How is life as a doctor in Singapore?

Old 25-07-2023, 10:16 AM

Yup. That’s how mmeder gets 300 total
So compared to setting own shop or locum, total comp stay ops better
300k isn't much. Considering it includes bonus.

Old 25-07-2023, 01:51 PM

At the tail-end (last few months) of my speciality training in the UK, and just wanna give some insights…

Training conditions in the UK are generally better than that of Singapore, with the exception of pay in absolute terms.

In relative terms, a trainee doctor in the UK earns more on an hourly basis. I am getting paid around £4,500 post-tax as a ST5 Radiology Registrar. On average, I am working around 45 hours a week. Annual paid leave is 35 days. This does not include quality improvement time/ days that I can take leave off for self-study or portfolio writing.

Of course, I am unable to save much compared to working in Singapore, because I have to pay for rent and transport which is more expensive in the UK.

However, if I had chosen to return to Singapore immediately after medical school (like most of my SG peers), it will have been neigh impossible or extremely difficult to match into any respectable speciality.

Most, if not all of my peers are now family physicians/GPs working at Healthway/Raffles. Only 1 got into speciality training in Psychiatry and that’s after 2 tries.

So, in essence, my advice to all Singaporean UK medical graduates or even Singapore medical graduates(who can afford to break bond), is to slog it out for speciality training in the UK, before returning to Singapore.

Sure, in the short term you are financially less well-off compared to your peers who chose to return/work as an MO in Singapore. But long term gains outweighs those minuscule short term gains.
What makes u think you can get a job in singapore now.

Old 25-07-2023, 04:57 PM

got bonus letter and wanna ask: SQC service quality component only for GDFM and Mmed? Rp without gdfm have? quality component isit similar between SI? 2.xx mth?
Lol
The usual trolls can't answer Ur question becuSe they got no idea what u talking about
Aiyah .no need ask too much to compare la
End of the day look at your annual divided by 12 and ask if the monthly looks decent or not

Old 25-07-2023, 05:24 PM

300k isn't much. Considering it includes bonus.
I think as a ops mmed FP 300k is quite decent
Haha I don’t ask for too much.

I don’t need to care abt rent or tpa
Old 25-07-2023, 07:22 PM

Lol
The usual trolls can't answer Ur question becuSe they got no idea what u talking about
Aiyah .no need ask too much to compare la
End of the day look at your annual divided by 12 and ask if the monthly looks decent or not
Prob is divide by 12 for now and…. sigh.
Just want to find out if other cluster SQC same.
Cos if other cluster bonus diff, sqc diff, yearly annual may have significant diff.
Want to corroborate.
Old 25-07-2023, 08:03 PM

Cos if other cluster bonus diff, sqc diff, yearly annual may have significant diff.
Want to corroborate.
All clusters abt the same one lah.
Now we are the poster boy
So 300k pa achievable.

But next time fm may not be the poster boy any more

Old 25-07-2023, 08:32 PM

All clusters abt the same one lah.
Now we are the poster boy
So 300k pa achievable.

But next time fm may not be the poster boy any more
No lo not same.
Old 25-07-2023, 09:06 PM

No lo not same.
Same la.
Dun anyhow.

The ministry has guidelines re salary so as to prevent people job hopping.
Last time when there was 6 health clusters that happen and salaries started to get out of control.
One IM con from ktph cross over to AH got a 6k increase.
Now u from nhgp cross over to nup for example, their hr will talk to your HR to find your salary and give u the same.

The trolls really a lot.

FM where got 300k when u just exit.
Infact no speciality gives u that from start.

300k is at least ops head and at consultant level all in plus whatever extra allowance.
Young heads dun get that yet.
Old 25-07-2023, 09:09 PM

Want to corroborate.
U just exit last year is it?
Then u only got 3 months of service la becuase financial year from march onwards
Next year July u will get the full sum
When Coe not high that time u can pay off a Japanese sedan in full
Old 25-07-2023, 10:05 PM

Same la.
Dun anyhow.

The ministry has guidelines re salary so as to prevent people job hopping.
Last time when there was 6 health clusters that happen and salaries started to get out of control.
One IM con from ktph cross over to AH got a 6k increase.
Now u from nhgp cross over to nup for example, their hr will talk to your HR to find your salary and give u the same.

The trolls really a lot.

FM where got 300k when u just exit.
Infact no speciality gives u that from start.

300k is at least ops head and at consultant level all in plus whatever extra allowance.
Young heads dun get that yet.
ic thanks for highlighting. So roughly SQC same between clusters hor. bonus component still cluster dependent got differences?