Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

How much are you earning per annum?

Old 03-07-2015, 06:11 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
I know which doctor you are referring to.
You need to know the background I.e.
a) her hubby is a malaysian
b) she is having difficulty actually retiring there cos her children are still young.

So JB retirement is plausible BUT only for certain people...
I am the doctor u r referring to but both my hubby and I r Singaporeans....

Old 03-07-2015, 09:07 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
I am the doctor u r referring to but both my hubby and I r Singaporeans....
Hi,

How is your retirement plan getting along? Have you moved to JB to retire? Are your kids in the international school there?

Old 03-07-2015, 09:21 PM
Unregistered

Default realistic

Quote:
Hi all,

I'm a young professional and have been following this thread for some time now. I'm just curious as to why so many of the replies as quoted above seem to harbour a similar theme of downgrading to HDB upon retirement to generate cash flow to invest in revenue-generating assets.

I am not sure if it is the same person providing this advice, and I am by no means an expert on the matter, but realistically, how many people (especially in Singapore) will feel comfortable downgrading after so many years of working, saving and financial planning to afford private housing, only to retire and have to downgrade to public housing? Further, how many of them would sell their home and move to a 3rd world country like Thailand/JB just so they can convert SGD to the local currency and feel rich? These ideas seem really ridiculous and careless to me, which is why I am asking if anyone actually does and if so, are you really happy?