Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Compare civil service salary

Old 21-09-2010, 03:27 AM
Unregistered

Default law ackeyhos

Quote:
Originally Posted by disgrunted View Post
Hi all,

I graduated with a biz management cum laude / 2nd upp equivalent. Started out with 3.3k, and worked for 1 year. Recently, there was a pay revision which got me to 3.5k.

I have a 'b' grade performance, but very recently got an annual increment of $170.
From my chat with hr, I was informed that my increment is standard for my scheme (SN/ analyst role) and my first increment is independent of my performance.

Qn) I feel cheated having worked hard for my first year, to be told my performance will only benefit me AFTER 2 years. Is this the case for you guys?

Qn) I am searching for analyst roles in the private sector, but am having a tough time. These analyst positions: economist/ investment analyst/ equities research are hard to come by, and even if available, demand relevant experience. Worst, I applied for a fresh property analyst position with URA and was promptly rejected in 3 days. Though my peers with slightly lower credentials have not received a reply. Any advice?
Don't be disheartened. URA Property Analyst post is likely meant for those from Faculty of Building and Estate Management NUS, now called Design and Build or something like dat. They learn things like land valuation, land surveying, etc. To join URA, it will help very much if you are Architect, Landscape Architect with postgrad in Town Planning, etc. Other disciplines can take in but no very helpful in your career lor....

Financial Analyst more suitable for you. Saw many advert on this.........

Old 21-09-2010, 03:33 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Bottom line is if you dont have at least 2nd upper, the honest advice is to avoid govt sector.