Anyone jobless for a long time before? - Page 41 - Salary.sg Forums

Anyone jobless for a long time before?

Old 07-05-2014, 08:44 AM

Default Tender period up

Hi, this week is my last week in my current company. I have tendered without a job two months ago and this Friday will be my last day. However, I am panicky now cos I have no job interviews though I sent out my resume to many companies. I do not want to consider other industry. There are no job opening at this moment. The job adverts were many weeks ago so I guess the position has been taken up. I do not feel alright to send my resume to agencies cos they are just wasting my time. I had one call from a job agency briefly interviewing me over the phone. I have stated so clearly my reason for leaving my previous job yet she still ask me. In the end, she just made some stupid assumptions about me and then said will get back to me which of course never hear from her anymore.

Can anyone tell me whether you got your perm job via a job agency and has been working since happily ever after ? Do you think job agencies are more suitable for students who are looking for temp assignments or ppl who only want contract or temp jobs ? They really wasted my time unless I have no other choice but nowadays I see alot of job agencies advertising.

Old 07-05-2014, 09:32 AM

Why not be a businessman? A low risk, high return business is to drive a taxi. You can easily earn $5k pm if you are hardworking. If you save $3k pm, in 30 years time, you can save $1m and you can retire well.

Hi, this week is my last week in my current company. I have tendered without a job two months ago and this Friday will be my last day. However, I am panicky now cos I have no job interviews though I sent out my resume to many companies. I do not want to consider other industry. There are no job opening at this moment. The job adverts were many weeks ago so I guess the position has been taken up. I do not feel alright to send my resume to agencies cos they are just wasting my time. I had one call from a job agency briefly interviewing me over the phone. I have stated so clearly my reason for leaving my previous job yet she still ask me. In the end, she just made some stupid assumptions about me and then said will get back to me which of course never hear from her anymore.

Can anyone tell me whether you got your perm job via a job agency and has been working since happily ever after ? Do you think job agencies are more suitable for students who are looking for temp assignments or ppl who only want contract or temp jobs ? They really wasted my time unless I have no other choice but nowadays I see alot of job agencies advertising.

Old 07-05-2014, 11:16 AM

Why not be a businessman? A low risk, high return business is to drive a taxi. You can easily earn $5k pm if you are hardworking. If you save $3k pm, in 30 years time, you can save $1m and you can retire well.
Hi thanks for your reply. Are you a taxi driver ? No, being one doesn't guarantee high return. Unless you are telling me you work 24 hrs a day with consistent influx of passenger but sorry your low risk high return theory doesn't work, if not everyone can be a taxi driver millionaire as this occupation doesn't need a degree or diploma.

Old 07-05-2014, 11:23 AM

floralpeace is on a distinguished road

I quitted without job n last day was end feb. I gt interview every week n 2 job offer. Started work on 2nd week of april. I suggest u vet your resume and take on some part time tuition on weekdays evenings or weekends. Dun be too kan chiong or worried. Find a good job n remember y u left without job is the job not gd. So dun be in hurry to start another one. Must be one that u relly like the environment and scope of work.
Jiayou.
Old 07-05-2014, 11:27 AM

To answer your question on job agency I would say most r nt good experience except for adecco.
But full time job its better to apply direct cz higher basic.
Full time job if u hv specific field u can go recruit express. I received numerous interviews frm them however none success.
Old 07-05-2014, 11:32 AM

Please be serious lah. People no job and very anxious already.

By the way, even if taxi driving can accumulate $1m, that's in 30 years time. Dont know how small the $1m will be, maybe only $300K in 30 years?

Also remember taxi driver no CPF by employer, no annual leave, everything come out from own pocket.

Old 11-05-2014, 09:26 AM

You can join the Marine industry
://.maritimecareers.com.sg/careers.php
://wdasingapore.blogspot.sg/2012/06/steering-his-way-to-maritime-career.html

There are opportunities for training for technician roles. Since you dislike selling, perhaps learning a skills to fix ships, equipment is the right choice for you?

Originally Posted by Needajob View Post
hi, i been jobless for close to 3 month now i going crazy already. im a diploma in engineering informatic but that was 10 yrs ago and i forget everything already, been in army as 3 yrs contract with extention till 2008 and been working as a second hand car salesman till jan 2014.
firstly i do not know what i want, i hate doing sales but that was one job that can earn if you don't have a degree in singapore. i love my saf days as we learn abit of this and that and teach army guys, bond was very good and no backstab etc... pay was decent and colleague is fantastic.
now that i out of job, can i ask what job should i get?
apply for dxo, spf, police warden, all got reject.
cisco is paying like 900? or 1300? i not sure but i not so sure i going that road..
i was earning 58k pa in saf and 65k pa in car sales, but things goes way down since car sales drop alot...
i know i have to start from beginning but i beg for someone to tell me which industry to go for, or a place that there is seldom backstabing, a place they give job training for a 32 year old ppl like me.. a 5day or 5 1/2day job, a job that can get above 2k.
i know i sound stupid for asking too much but i not so sure myself. can anyone advice me?
some told me to be hawker, some ask me to be construction worker, some ask me sell mlm product, i find very low potential in these few areas, yes i know some make it but its like 1 out of 1000.
i feel so useless right now.. i not sure if i did not study hard enough to go uni or i choose wrong path in my 10 yrs career.. but whats next for me? is it over for me in singapore? is it the end of the road for me?
i hope i can get some advice... pls.. guide me... what job or industry should i go for next...
Old 12-05-2014, 11:25 AM

How do you answer question like this : Do you have any question for us ? during an interview.

I have already said no more question as I have read through the co. website but the interviewer do not seem to be impressed.
Old 12-05-2014, 12:14 PM

Usually I asked hows the working culture like and what r some of the challenges in work. Actually thus question is for urself to know the company before joining.
Old 12-05-2014, 02:12 PM

please ask a few intellectual questions instead of saying nothing to ask.

This shows the employer that you are very keen to contribute to the organization.

Question wise, please go think about it yourself. Its your job, not our job to spoonfeed you