How is life as a doctor in Singapore?

Old 06-04-2024, 03:28 PM

Is Australia FRACGP recognised in Singapore. If I just got my fellowship in FRACGP but haven't worked as a consultant in Australia yet, what are my options for returning to Singapore immediately.
If your first degree is second schedule , Come back to sg as conditional reg.
Work for 3 years to get FP register.
By then should be able to apply for full reg.

Old 06-04-2024, 06:00 PM

not my problem
my colleague will see but yes, referral is a very common management option. Nowadays in such a climate, why take risk ? U recover i'm just doing my job. You dun , become my fault even though 3 idiots before me completely miss the diagnosis. I refer you la, u want u go, dun want, collapse and die not my problem. Share decision liao. I defer to your preference, I am patient centric ok. Already smartphrase counselling phrase and padded to every entry where i have to refer.

aiyah , inpatient also like that. Refer every specialty. Fever refer ID, AKI refer renal, abdo pain refer GS, pain score 7/10 refer inpatient pain team. Social problem refer MSW, refer OT/PT
A&E either you AOR or your get admitted
radiology - always got disclaimer " pls co-relate clinically. Further imaging might be warranted"

all cover backside. My job is not to be a hero. My job is a job, to bring moolah back home to feed myself , my wife and my kids.
I think the biggest mindset change many doctors need to realize in FM is that clinical acumen/excellence alone is not often rewarded.
- private judge you on revenue
- public judge you on administrative things (like QIs, education, research etc)

So able to manage a chronic patient with multiple issues well or picking up a tiny nodule on cxr (that even radiology cant see) which eventually turn out cancerous may get you compliment from pt, but may not enhance your bonus/career.

Old 06-04-2024, 08:03 PM

I think the biggest mindset change many doctors need to realize in FM is that clinical acumen/excellence alone is not often rewarded.
- private judge you on revenue
- public judge you on administrative things (like QIs, education, research etc)

So able to manage a chronic patient with multiple issues well or picking up a tiny nodule on cxr (that even radiology cant see) which eventually turn out cancerous may get you compliment from pt, but may not enhance your bonus/career.
not true lei
Private: depends on your mode of operations. Are you a MC clinic where footfall matters or you are a reliable FP where skillset/experience matters? To me , those MC clinics are not even considered FM. As a private GP / FP your business can only be truly viable in the long term when you sell expertise and continuity rather than convivence. MC clinics are just a race to the bottom with higher rent, longer hours and more and more greedy TPAs

Public? If you in hospital doing transition care , community care or in comm hospital how can the ability to manage a multi morbid chronic patient be unimportant? In polyclinics , well, you are obviously not boss level yet. There are clinical indices which are tracked for each individual clinician that affects pay. The effect is not great year on year but cumulative , over a 5 or 10 year period the difference is not insignificant. That's the reason why on this forum, u hear some polyclinic FP at AC level claiming 250K annual awhile other say only 200K.

Old 07-04-2024, 01:47 PM

Is Australia FRACGP recognised in Singapore. If I just got my fellowship in FRACGP but haven't worked as a consultant in Australia yet, what are my options for returning to Singapore immediately.
Australia GP got consultant position one meh?
Mostly work in groups privately.
Maybe some health service will hire U to look after indigenous population in super ulu areas and U hired as a gp, where got consultant.
Old 07-04-2024, 03:57 PM

Australia GP got consultant position one meh?
Mostly work in groups privately.
Maybe some health service will hire U to look after indigenous population in super ulu areas and U hired as a gp, where got consultant.
All fellows in Australia are considered specialists. Don't forget GP is a specialty too, hence I used the world consultant.
Old 07-04-2024, 05:08 PM

for children under 10 with fever more than 7 days but no other localising sign, do most do a dipstick and refer to CE or should take bloods and do a full workup in clinic?

Old 07-04-2024, 06:55 PM

All fellows in Australia are considered specialists. Don't forget GP is a specialty too, hence I used the world consultant.
i think you might need to continue staying in aussie

coz in sg, FRACGP opportunities are limited.
FRACGP training is rather short. just 3 years.

this is actually same as mmed (fm)
so yup, i wouldnt use the word consultant here.

but FRACGP is indeed an FP registrable qualification, like GDFM.

anyway GP practice in aussie is very different to sinkie
in singapore all residential area is within 5km of hosp
in aussie, you got rural and whats not.

so your skillset might not be relevant.
suggest continue to stay in aussie
Old 07-04-2024, 10:33 PM

Gossipguru is on a distinguished road
Default qn on full reg

Can anyone confirm how to get full reg?
smc never reply
Basically an IMG 2nd schedule, did HO in Singapore

Not sure if we will get full reg regardless of posting choice during the waiting time? Don't see any section specific to 2nd schedule + did HO in SG

Also if need to wait, is wait how long?

Thanks
Old 08-04-2024, 08:03 AM

Originally Posted by Gossipguru View Post
Can anyone confirm how to get full reg?
smc never reply
Basically an IMG 2nd schedule, did HO in Singapore

Not sure if we will get full reg regardless of posting choice during the waiting time? Don't see any section specific to 2nd schedule + did HO in SG

Also if need to wait, is wait how long?

Thanks
Gossipguru
Might not get full reg nowadays, esp if U not in residency
Can wait very long.
Some pple 5 to 6 years still there.

Good luck.
Old 08-04-2024, 08:14 AM

Ok consultant gp from Australia.
Hope U find a job in sg

Rgds
Lowly non consultant fcfp fp