Old 10-05-2014, 12:08 AM

My story is not that great. There are people who made many times more than I did. They bought more expensive landed in 2005 and the value shot up by millions, quantum wise.

For me, I didn't earn much in 2005, about $80k plus, it was enough to qualify for loan for my landed after selling my HDB flat.

People don't realise that they spend a lot on cars, if their car loan payment is $1000 pm and their other expenses - repairs, maintenance, petrol, insurance, road tax is $1500 pm (pro rated), that is already $2,500 pm (or $30k pa).

I didn't really keep track of actual savings because the amount was combined with stocks trading gains. I recalled buying growth stocks at bargain prices in 2009 during the global crisis, they were oil-related growth stocks, which crashed when oil prices crashed during the crisis but shot up when oil price recovered.
Your timing is good. I also have similar success story regarding buying stocks during 09, but I have just liquided all my position early this year. I think a major correction is long overdue.

Old 10-05-2014, 08:07 AM

If you have $100k of passive income in retirement, you can retire like a big, rich tycoon in Malaysia or Thailand. If you convert to RM, you will get RM260k pa or RM21k pm.

You are free to retire anywhere in the world, you can change places every year or every two years and see the world.The world is your home.

48, sole breadwinner, spouse is a home maker
Annual salary, $120k pa
Annual dividend, $40k pa
Home is a condo, worth $1m, paid up
No car, travel by MRT

Retirement plan at 65 is as follows

Sell condo, downgrade to hdb studio flat for the elderly
Invest $1m cash proceeds to get $40k pa dividends
So total dividends = $80k pa
CPF Life payout = $20k pa
So total passive income = $100k pa

Old 10-05-2014, 01:20 PM

45 & 42 years old millionaire couple.

Among the top 0.5% of the world's population, by net worth.

We are lucky to be born in Singapore as the Singapore system gave us the opportunity to move up the the social ladder from being those in the low income group when we were young to those who are among the richest in the world.

Now living in a condominium unit in a good district, fully paid up.

Owns a big, luxury European car, fully paid up.

If you study hard, work hard, invest smart and be kind and generous towards the poor and needy and have good hearts, you will be successful.

We look forward to a comfortable retirement in 10 years time.

Old 10-05-2014, 04:56 PM

38/39, $130k pa combined
4 room hdb flat, $100k mortgage left
Cash/CPF/stocks, $300k
Anyone in the same age group as us?
How are you doing financially?
Old 10-05-2014, 06:14 PM

50, 51, combined income $180k pa.

Expenses I pay:
1/2 of mortgage
Car loan
Car related costs - petrol, road tax, maintenance, repair, etc.
1/2 of insurance
My parent's allowance
Kids' tuition
Utilities
Cable subscription
My personal expenses (lunch, etc)
My income tax

Expenses spouse pay:
Maid cost
1/2 of mortgage
Groceries
1/2 of insurance
Spouse parent's allowance
Kids' pocket money
Spouse personal expenses

We save in total $30k pa.
Home is a condo
Car is a conti car
Old 10-05-2014, 06:17 PM

To really make apple to apple comparison, can state whether got kids or not, and whether both graduates or not? The reason is there is quite a range of salaries out there for any age group.

For eg, top scholar uniformed officers (military, police and SCDF) are already LTCs / COLs earning $150k - $250k pa at your age. Ordinary "farmer" graduate like me was earning $80k (including bonus) :-(. And I know some of my classmates earning less.

38/39, $130k pa combined
4 room hdb flat, $100k mortgage left
Cash/CPF/stocks, $300k
Anyone in the same age group as us?
How are you doing financially?

Old 10-05-2014, 07:05 PM

To really make apple to apple comparison, can state whether got kids or not, and whether both graduates or not? The reason is there is quite a range of salaries out there for any age group.

For eg, top scholar uniformed officers (military, police and SCDF) are already LTCs / COLs earning $150k - $250k pa at your age. Ordinary "farmer" graduate like me was earning $80k (including bonus) :-(. And I know some of my classmates earning less.
I'm just an assistant farmer grad, earning less than you :-(

What's your net worth now? Where are you staying?
Old 11-05-2014, 05:36 AM

Single woman, 47, working a Senior manager in large US MNC, earns $200k pa
Paid up condo worth $2mil, paid up Beemer520
Looking forward to my retirement in 8 years time.
Old 11-05-2014, 07:03 AM

Congratulations on your success.
May I know what's your retirement plan?
Do you have enough funds or passive income for your retirement?
Do you have to downgrade from your condo to a one bedroom condo or HDB flat?
What's your current net worth?

Single woman, 47, working a Senior manager in large US MNC, earns $200k pa
Paid up condo worth $2mil, paid up Beemer520
Looking forward to my retirement in 8 years time.
Old 11-05-2014, 08:31 AM

Married couple, 48, 49, with two teenage kids.
Lower middle class family.
Annual income, $152k pa. Annual savings, $35k pa.
Home is a condo, worth $1.2m, paid up.
Transport is a Korean car, paid up.
Cash/CPF/ stocks, $400k.
Total net worth, $1.6m.

We like the advice of someone here who gave us the
idea of selling our condo and buying a HDB studio flat
when we retire. We then can travel the world to live
in different cities every few years. This is exciting.

I heard you only need $1000 per month to retire
well in Chiang Mai.