How's life in private ah?
Hired or u run own clinic?
I want to take the jump but scared.

I just turn ac
To be honest life not too bad.
Some weeks worse than others but I got lots of leave.
I attend course and cme on company time.
I earn sufficiently. Cannot huat with bunglow but ok lo, buy car buy house no problem.
Want second property stress a bit but doable.
I like the hours. 5 pm scoot out and go home.
I like the teaching. I know and have enuff experience now to teach the finer points of medicine to residents

Work is becoming v routine though
Nothing medical really intrigues me anymore
Listen a bit I know why liao, and lately I realise I don't have patience for patient
It's like brother, no need tell me grandmother story la...I know what's wrong with u.
Let me manage u and get the f out so I can see the next patient.

FM worldwide is always being look down one la.
Most countries FM just stand firm.
Only Singapore they go gyrate with sab wanting to gain recognition
何必做贱自己. Should tell them go fly kite.

For Singapore I dun blame hospitalist to look down on FM
Polyclinic was filled with really cmi rps and gdfm that anyhow one
Even now I shake head at the stupid management of some of my rps
讲不通, 骂不理.。
End up we have to spend extra time to undo the misunderstanding and wrong management.

The beyond hospital mandate is killing FM for sure
Everything also push to FM
My residents find their future bleak and I don't blame them
I've been telling them if u got no speed, don't plan to work in poly
Straight go GP , or train in pall, sports , rehab or go comm hospital
U sound really old though. did u take fcps?
Or mmed ac?

Old 06-01-2024, 10:28 PM

lol. Because OPS only allows you to treat those few conditions.
DM HTN HLD thyroid etc
That’s why after a while it’s damn boring
When you are on your own, you can treat anything, order any test, do any scan you want
There’s much more to primary care and FM than just managing DHL.
Most OPS doctor don’t even know how to treat menopause, give TRT, procedures / contraceptions etc.

I just turn ac
I earn sufficiently. Cannot huat with bunglow but ok lo, buy car buy house no problem.
I like the teaching. I know and have enuff experience now to teach the finer points of medicine to residents

Listen a bit I know why liao, and lately I realise I don't have patience for patient
It's like brother, no need tell me grandmother story la...I know what's wrong with u.

讲不通, 骂不理.。
End up we have to spend extra time to undo the misunderstanding and wrong management.

Old 06-01-2024, 10:57 PM

Ops doc also cannot suture & do t&s

Old 07-01-2024, 07:22 AM

Ops doc also cannot suture & do t&s
Can do. During lunch time. Burn your lunch time. To T&S for the patient during lunch time.

But yeah. What for right? Lunch time is my time. I get no extra for doing T&S during lunchtime. Altruistic reasons?

Old 07-01-2024, 07:28 AM

I just turn ac

讲不通, 骂不理.。

Agree with you worldwide FM is the lowest standing.
Several reasons. Usually it is the shortest training period. Another reason is usually lowest paid. We are talking about bread and butter FM clinical work.

But in other countries FM can also be very versatile. Because FM can pretty do anything if the employer or health authority accredits the FM to do it. There might need to be some additional training but it is usually not as long. Eg Palliative. Emergency. Chronic Pain. Opioid Agonist Therapy. Addictions. Mental Health. Psychotherapy. Anesthesia. Obstetrics. HIV. LGBTQ. Men's Health. Women's Health. Dermatology (skin cancer screening/surveillance and shave and punch biopsies). There are even more specific sub specialisations where FM can work as well. But you need to know your stuff and also know the specialists involved. A bit like how anesthetists need surgeons.

In SG it sounds like you guys only have OPS and Pte GP and Aesthetics as options. Sad.
Old 07-01-2024, 10:37 AM

AC just stay in le ba. The pay as a salaried public AC vs private GP is very comparable.
really meh. going by what some of the GPs are posting here, its like they got the best and highest paying medical jobs in the land.
make me tempted.

Old 07-01-2024, 12:01 PM

This is big canon forum
No iras payslip no proof
Anybody can claim the sky

Ops ac will claim their lives uber good, max pay
Gp will claim their pay also super gd

Just Do what you like
You only got 1 life
Old 07-01-2024, 12:37 PM

I am a resident currently working in ops. Would like to ask some advice from seniors (ops or private) about dealing with ambiguous radiology (mainly XRs) reports. I am just asking as I feel that radio reports can sometimes be very ambiguous. Like ".... Is non specific in nature but could be....; kindly correlate clinically (seems to be the magical phrase nowadays)

Context
I say this 30 year old lady, for review of left hip XR.
She saw my colleague, yesterday evening following a fall, and had some pain over the left hip/groin area. XR was done, but as the consult was late (ard 5pm), so an appt was given to review the report today. (Usual practice in my clinic as XR done after 4pm may not be reported on same day)

The XR left hip report says
"Mild linear lucency across greater trochanter is non specific but could also represent a fracture in the context of trauma. Kindly correlate clinically."
Patient pain today is better after given analgesic yesterday, able to walk normally, with no issues.
- hip ROM also full, painfree.

I wasn't sure what to do at this stage. (Personally could not appreciate the lucency reported, but of course I am no expert). End up I referred Ed. Trace her notes, Ed repeated a left hip XR, now reports normal ("previous reported lucency not seen") and pt was discharged after

Just not sure if I handled it correctly. Do we as fps (ops or private) have the authority/confidence to overrule the radio report. (I know some surgeons do, esp the experienced ones when I rotated through Ortho and gs, but not sure of fps should), if we feel that there is a discordance with clinical findings?
- I mean pt was pain free. She had a mechanical fall from standing height after slipping, and had no risk factors for secondary osteoporosis
- i.e risk of hip fracture very low i feel.

Was also thinking on reflection if I should have repeated the hip XR in ops before referring (but not sure what that would add)

But aside from this case, also a generic qn, how you all deal with ambiguous XR findings in general,(e.g cxr report some densities, atelectasis, apical thickening that even the radio uses words like "could be, non specific or correlate clinically"). (Would you all err on side of caution and over refer in general ?)
Old 07-01-2024, 01:58 PM

I am a resident currently working in ops. Would like to ask some advice from seniors (ops or private) about dealing with ambiguous radiology (mainly XRs) reports. I am just asking as I feel that radio reports can sometimes be very ambiguous. Like ".... Is non specific in nature but could be....; kindly correlate clinically (seems to be the magical phrase nowadays)

Context
She saw my colleague, yesterday evening following a fall, and had some pain over the left hip/groin area. XR was done, but as the consult was late (ard 5pm), so an appt was given to review the report today. (Usual practice in my clinic as XR done after 4pm may not be reported on same day)

"Mild linear lucency across greater trochanter is non specific but could also represent a fracture in the context of trauma. Kindly correlate clinically."
Patient pain today is better after given analgesic yesterday, able to walk normally, with no issues.

I wasn't sure what to do at this stage. (Personally could not appreciate the lucency reported, but of course I am no expert). End up I referred Ed. Trace her notes, Ed repeated a left hip XR, now reports normal ("previous reported lucency not seen") and pt was discharged after

Just not sure if I handled it correctly. Do we as fps (ops or private) have the authority/confidence to overrule the radio report. (I know some surgeons do, esp the experienced ones when I rotated through Ortho and gs, but not sure of fps should), if we feel that there is a discordance with clinical findings?
- I mean pt was pain free. She had a mechanical fall from standing height after slipping, and had no risk factors for secondary osteoporosis

Was also thinking on reflection if I should have repeated the hip XR in ops before referring (but not sure what that would add)

But aside from this case, also a generic qn, how you all deal with ambiguous XR findings in general,(e.g cxr report some densities, atelectasis, apical thickening that even the radio uses words like "could be, non specific or correlate clinically"). (Would you all err on side of caution and over refer in general ?)
Go ask your preceptor instead of here.
This is clinical reasoning

But good u take your job seriously to reflect
Old 07-01-2024, 02:19 PM

Context

You did right.
The first xr ray did show mild lucency that could represent a fracture

Your obligation is to trace and refer ed.
You cannot override a radiologist

Under the rules of engagement, ur have done ur duty