|

05-07-2021, 01:15 AM
|
|
Originally Posted by Unregistered
stfu la dog
|
Translation: Limpei fking buay kan. Pls stop sharing your starting salaries and net worth. I’ll ridicule them cus I own salary forum. I am the best la knn.
*cries in traineeship*
|

07-07-2021, 09:10 PM
|
|
We are both going to be 55 soon. Thinking of retiring. How much cash do we need to retire? We don’t have any debt. How much do we need every month assuming a humble lifestyle? Mostly cook own meals. Any advice?
|

07-07-2021, 10:48 PM
|
|
We are both going to be 55 soon. Thinking of retiring. How much cash do we need to retire? We don’t have any debt. How much do we need every month assuming a humble lifestyle? Mostly cook own meals. Any advice?
|
You need $10mln. With prices of everything going up, you are going to struggle to pay for food, medical and other costs.
|

07-07-2021, 11:26 PM
|
|
|
no 1 billion no talk
|

08-07-2021, 10:46 AM
|
|
|
For a retired couple's monthly expenses
Breakfast = $2 x 2 x 30 = $120
Lunch = $4 x 2 x 30 = $240
Dinner = $4 x 2 x 30 = $240
Groceries = $300
Utilities bills including mobile phone = $200
Public transport = $100
Medical expenses (non emergency) = $100
Medical insurance = $900
Overseas holidays (pro-rated) = $500
Other expenses = $300
Total = $3000 per month for 2 persons
Total = $1500 per month for 1 person
For one year = $36,000. For 10 years = $360,000 for 2 persons
One person needs $180,000
So each of you needs to have cash of at least $200,000 to retire at 55 years old. This will last for 10 years. This assumes you have your CPF Life when you reach 65
|

09-07-2021, 10:58 AM
|
|
Thanks for sharing. I think we can both retire at 55. We can sell our property and downgrade to a smaller apartment. Plus our CPF Ordinary Account which we can take at 55, our total cash will be about $500,000. We also have enough for our CPF Life. Looks like we don't need to be a millionaire to retire at 55. A nobody like me can also retire at 55 if we save enough in our CPF and have property to cash out and downgrade. A retired couple can live in a small home.
For a retired couple's monthly expenses
Breakfast = $2 x 2 x 30 = $120
Lunch = $4 x 2 x 30 = $240
Dinner = $4 x 2 x 30 = $240
Groceries = $300
Utilities bills including mobile phone = $200
Public transport = $100
Medical expenses (non emergency) = $100
Medical insurance = $900
Overseas holidays (pro-rated) = $500
Other expenses = $300
Total = $3000 per month for 2 persons
Total = $1500 per month for 1 person
For one year = $36,000. For 10 years = $360,000 for 2 persons
One person needs $180,000
So each of you needs to have cash of at least $200,000 to retire at 55 years old. This will last for 10 years. This assumes you have your CPF Life when you reach 65
|
|

10-07-2021, 10:49 AM
|
|
Anyone got covid yet and is it affecting their life? Since singapore has given up the covid fight and is moving to living with covid in the community, instead of eradicating it like other developed countries are doing.
|

11-07-2021, 12:47 AM
|
|
Thanks for sharing. I think we can both retire at 55. We can sell our property and downgrade to a smaller apartment. Plus our CPF Ordinary Account which we can take at 55, our total cash will be about $500,000. We also have enough for our CPF Life. Looks like we don't need to be a millionaire to retire at 55. A nobody like me can also retire at 55 if we save enough in our CPF and have property to cash out and downgrade. A retired couple can live in a small home.
|
We can also retire when we reach 55 yo. We own a paid up condo worth $1m. If we sell it and then downgrade to a $500k HDB 5 room flat, we can get $500k cash. We also have CPF savings in CPF Ordinary Account. We plan to choose the CPF Life ERS so our CPF Life can give us about $4500 pm in total when we reach 65. It’s exciting to know that we can retire in 5 years time.
|

11-07-2021, 10:17 PM
|
|
Anyone got covid yet and is it affecting their life? Since singapore has given up the covid fight and is moving to living with covid in the community, instead of eradicating it like other developed countries are doing.
|
Pls go to discuss in edmw
|

11-07-2021, 10:22 PM
|
|
Pls go to discuss in edmw
|
meow kitty kitty kitty
|