Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Compare civil service salary

Old 07-03-2013, 04:56 PM
Incognito

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Thanks for the clarifications. I'm a local uni undergrad, thinking of joining a civil service or stat board after graduation.

Was wondering if skills in stat boards eg EDB, MAS is transferable to private sector. I'm keen in doing policy.

Passed a good chance to sign on in SAF when i was in NS and skills that are nontransferable was my main concern then (and now).
I can't be sure, but I don't think the experience you gain at doing policy work is going to be transferable to the private sector. I mean just think about it - how many private companies hire employees to do policy work? Almost zero. Doing policy work is almost exclusively a government type of job.

I'd be happy to be corrected by someone else who knows better though.

Old 07-03-2013, 05:01 PM

jobhunter1234 is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incognito View Post
I can't be sure, but I don't think the experience you gain at doing policy work is going to be transferable to the private sector. I mean just think about it - how many private companies hire employees to do policy work? Almost zero. Doing policy work is almost exclusively a government type of job.

Yea...I totally agree with Incognito. For me, I'll not apply to roles under policy formulation despite those positions are considered as better within govt sector..because you deemed as the brainier ones to come out with plans and directions.

Primary School English Grammar and Vocabulary Drills
Primary School English Grammar and Vocabulary Drills

SG Bus Timing App
SG Bus Timing App - the best bus app - available on iOS and Android

Bursa Stocks Android App - check share prices
Bursa Stocks [Android] App - check latest share prices on the go