|
|

28-02-2024, 03:46 PM
|
|
Originally Posted by Unregistered
Got offered $8k plus for an AD position in a ministry. 10 years experience. Ppl always complained civil servants having a good and stable life. Actually the pay is really not attractive as compared to private sector.
|
Must consider the overall compensation as public sector has pretty decent bonuses plus more stable employment condition. In private sector one must accept uncertainties.
|

28-02-2024, 04:08 PM
|
|
Got offered $8k plus for an AD position in a ministry. 10 years experience. Ppl always complained civil servants having a good and stable life. Actually the pay is really not attractive as compared to private sector.
|
Assuming the pay is 8K, and a 16 month package, that's $128,000 a year. As of 2022 figures, that's higher than 80% of all resident tax payers. How is that not attractive?
|

28-02-2024, 04:41 PM
|
|
|
Then don't take lor. Give this chance to other seeking a stable employment in public sector. You can continue to find your desired salary..
|

28-02-2024, 07:35 PM
|
|
The usual rates have been reinstated. Also, there was a post-Covid adjustment for those hired during Covid (of about $100-200), as they started with dampened salaries.
|
Was this part of the 2022 adjustment or separate ?
|

28-02-2024, 08:58 PM
|
|
Assuming the pay is 8K, and a 16 month package, that's $128,000 a year. As of 2022 figures, that's higher than 80% of all resident tax payers. How is that not attractive?
|
still lower than 1 in 5 people leh.. not cui meh?
|

28-02-2024, 10:45 PM
|
|
still lower than 1 in 5 people leh.. not cui meh?
|
Its not lower than 1 in five. You are the 1 in 5.
|

29-02-2024, 05:33 AM
|
|
Its not lower than 1 in five. You are the 1 in 5.
|
At 80th percentile it means the top 20% is higher than you lah. And the guy mentioned it is AD position, which is one of the higher positions already? I mean how many SAD/DD are there in the entire civil service population. Comparing to the top ranks of other industries, thats a tad too low.
|

29-02-2024, 11:18 AM
|
|
At 80th percentile it means the top 20% is higher than you lah. And the guy mentioned it is AD position, which is one of the higher positions already? I mean how many SAD/DD are there in the entire civil service population. Comparing to the top ranks of other industries, thats a tad too low.
|
I don't get your logic...80th percentile across entire taxable population already means this is across industries. If you compare say tech, banking, finance, sure these will likely pay higher. But the vast number of other industries are likely to be the same or lower.
In any case, each to his own. If 80th percentile and higher job security doesn't cut it for you, then it will for someone else
|

01-03-2024, 02:58 PM
|
|
Was this part of the 2022 adjustment or separate ?
|
Separate. There was a post-Covid adjustment for some Ministries/agencies. Subsequently, another adjustment for all Ministries/agencies.
|
 |
|