Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Anyone jobless for a long time before?

Old 16-08-2018, 07:18 PM
J009

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1drowssap View Post
Referring to post #1781, the strangest part about your story that I can't find believable, is that given your background, you should be able to get quite a few job offers.

I really don't think race is the most important factor when not hiring you. It probably is due to things like lack of relevant job experience. The reason being is a lot of people in your profile, i.e. local grad, near to 1st class hons, would easily be able to get a job a few months before graduation.

A little bit about me, I am a prospective student for a private uni(i.e. I will already be in a much worse position compared to you). If you can't get a job, then I can't either by your logic. After trawling through so many posts, I have learnt two things that are very important in the work place for a fresh grad.

1. Your uni prestige
2. Your degree classification

You have both. So it really seems like a mystery to me that you can't get a job, let alone a good job.

So this only leads to a few conclusions.

One. You are aiming way to high. I can't really expand more since I am quite new to this. This probably could mean working in a Front Office of a foreign bank or something. Or maybe working for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs or some other prestigious ministry like MOF. Anyone reading, correct me if I make any mistakes.

Two. You don't have the relevant skills or job experience. From what I hear, many students get opportunities to do placements and things like that at NUS. So this means that either you didn't take your placements seriously, or had a change of heart and wanted to pursue some other career option that you had no chance to gain experience in at your placement.