Advise on a career path in finance/investment - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Advise on a career path in finance/investment

Old 26-11-2011, 06:37 PM

passer-by is on a distinguished road
Default Advise on a career path in finance/investment

Hi, I graduated 3 years back from a reputable foreign university with above average grade, with a degree in Actuarial Science.

I passed a few actuarial exams and had a short working experience in insurance industry. However, I found that I did not like actuarial work (desk-bound, too technical and a lot to do with weird theory, and have to go through tough actuarial exams)

I did not find my passion there and hence switched to finance line but worked in a back-end, administrative role. I quit after a year after passing CFA and joined FO of a local IB. The environment really sucks and that affected my mental and physical health and I requested for an internal transfer. However, the transfer put me in a back-end role again (Risk Management).

I do not like my role since it's very routine and much of my work is revolving around troubleshooting the stupid system breakdown, and cleaning the mess of others. And also my organization is quite big, i'm structured into a team with very limited jobscope yet my department is having never-ending restructuring.

Personally, i am very interested to work in a role that gives me business/investment exposure (eg advisory, corporate finance, and investment analyst). Been to a few interviews but unsuccessful since I was either tagged as job-hopper or they had concerns on my lack of solid experience.