Employment Contract - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Employment Contract

Old 18-05-2012, 01:13 AM

The_Monkey is on a distinguished road
Default Employment Contract

I have signed an employment contract with my current company. The terms of employment are fairly standard except for one clause stating that I am not allowed to work for any competitors or principles of the company.

I have asked around and understand that under Singapore law, non-compete clauses in employment contract is allowed if it is reasonable. For my case,
1. I am not allowed to seek employment with competitors or principles for 6 months. This would mean I am not allowed to seek employment anywhere in Singapore.
2. I am just a low level service engineer. There is no trade secrets to protect. So it is unreasonable to restrict me from getting employed elsewhere.
3. The penalty for breaching the clause is S$100k, which is again unreasonable and unjustifiable since the employer sustain no loss whatsoever.
4. Sometimes high level positions such as the CEO of a company get paid / compensated if retrenched / fired as they would be barred from working for competitors for long period of time up to years.
5. I learned that the employer included the clause simply to prevent its own employee from jumping over to join it competitors. There is absolutely no concern over trade secrets.

My question is, is the clause not enforceable due to unreasonableness? I have read this which basically says that the clause is unreasonable and can be ignored.
Employment Law - Covenants in Restraint of Trade: A Broad Overview

Anyone has any idea?

Old 18-05-2012, 01:10 PM
Millionaire Member

Hermit is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Monkey View Post