-   Companies (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/)
-   -   GovTech (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/8982-govtech.html)

Unregistered 03-07-2022 12:11 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224223)
15yr yoe but accessed to be engineer level only.
Was offered 7k only.

role? what grade they offer?

Unregistered 03-07-2022 12:12 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224313)
role? what grade they offer?

7k only lol what you want to know

Unregistered 03-07-2022 05:02 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224305)
then you consider mid level, 16% base increments not bad, haven't count bonus part as GT got corporate and individual bonus

you can try to nego with HR but doubt they will offer higher, always said this is best offer

my current got 3 + 1 same as GT.
HR said cannot -> there is the BEST
+
subject to approval also

Unregistered 04-07-2022 03:16 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224355)
my current got 3 + 1 same as GT.
HR said cannot -> there is the BEST
+
subject to approval also

So yr current package is 6k with 16 mth package, for 15 yoe. Annual is close to 100k,and no2 govtech bumps up to abt 112k.

Still decent la. Unless you think u r faang calibre.

Unregistered 04-07-2022 03:24 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224427)
So yr current package is 6k with 16 mth package, for 15 yoe. Annual is close to 100k,and no2 govtech bumps up to abt 112k.

Still decent la. Unless you think u r faang calibre.

6K with 15yoe is extremely low. Are you at STEE/NCS or something? The bonus structure also about there.

Unregistered 04-07-2022 09:56 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224428)
6K with 15yoe is extremely low. Are you at STEE/NCS or something? The bonus structure also about there.

mind sharing your yoe and pay for comparison?

Unregistered 04-07-2022 11:55 PM

I got an offer from govtech. increment from current base monthly.

Unregistered 05-07-2022 01:55 AM

I am in a dilemma.
Offers from GT HQ infra hosting vs mnc SRE role.
Mnc base is much higher but no promise bonus and yearly increament
confirm no aws.
Mnc annual without bonus on par with GT with bonus n aws.

I prefer do coding e.g. infra as code, less paper work n less vendor mgmt.
Which would u suggest?

Unregistered 05-07-2022 08:04 AM

As with all government service, there will be paper work and staff work.

Unregistered 05-07-2022 09:08 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224488)
I am in a dilemma.
Offers from GT HQ infra hosting vs mnc SRE role.
Mnc base is much higher but no promise bonus and yearly increament
confirm no aws.
Mnc annual without bonus on par with GT with bonus n aws.

I prefer do coding e.g. infra as code, less paper work n less vendor mgmt.
Which would u suggest?

you already got the answer yourself

Unregistered 05-07-2022 10:04 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224497)
you already got the answer yourself

is it GT alot of red tapes = approval admin work?
duno why my current boss said i should go GT if i prefer technical work.

anyway, my only worry is tio poke by mnc if recession next year (i got uni friends tio pok coz of Covid 19) whereas GT unlikely will retrench.

Unregistered 05-07-2022 02:47 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224500)
is it GT alot of red tapes = approval admin work?
duno why my current boss said i should go GT if i prefer technical work.

anyway, my only worry is tio poke by mnc if recession next year (i got uni friends tio pok coz of Covid 19) whereas GT unlikely will retrench.

ill say, it really depends on ur division/ ur team and ur project itself. for me rn i do 90% technical coding work(almost living inside terminal kind), 10% the bureaucracy that cant be escaped.

also depends on ur relevant YoE and job grade. YMMV

Unregistered 05-07-2022 11:22 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224516)
ill say, it really depends on ur division/ ur team and ur project itself. for me rn i do 90% technical coding work(almost living inside terminal kind), 10% the bureaucracy that cant be escaped.

also depends on ur relevant YoE and job grade. YMMV

more relevant YoE and more senior job grade --> less coding and more bureaucracy?

btw what kind of terminal you use on your gsib machine?

Unregistered 05-07-2022 11:36 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224550)
more relevant YoE and more senior job grade --> less coding and more bureaucracy?

gahmen allow you to install terminal?

Unregistered 06-07-2022 12:05 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224551)
gahmen allow you to install terminal?

You sure you dont have a GFE?

Unregistered 06-07-2022 12:16 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224550)

from what i see, yes. esp if u are tech lead level and above. its the norm in most places, even big tech.
engineers normally have a second laptop for dev purposes. most of us use macs and we also have GSIB as standard issue. but ofc thats for OS, if u are talking about actual terminal shell then bash obv.

Unregistered 06-07-2022 12:25 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224557)
You sure you dont have a GFE?

I'm just a tourist from finance, GFE sounds like something from SBF

Unregistered 06-07-2022 12:35 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224559)
I'm just a tourist from finance, GFE sounds like something from SBF

You can go mof website to check on im8 then, the acronym is in there.

Unregistered 06-07-2022 08:58 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224558)
from what i see, yes. esp if u are tech lead level and above. its the norm in most places, even big tech.
engineers normally have a second laptop for dev purposes. most of us use macs and we also have GSIB as standard issue. but ofc thats for OS, if u are talking about actual terminal shell then bash obv.

What about for confi systems or analyzing confi data? Can still use Mac's?

Unregistered 06-07-2022 12:15 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224572)
What about for confi systems or analyzing confi data? Can still use Mac's?

depends on alot of things and depends on the classification of data -> for confidential systems, well once u are in u will know. we dont take security lightly haha. hence, yes we usually access our prod systems on our mac as well. (after like 10-15 layers of security/vpn/mfa etc.)

Unregistered 06-07-2022 08:53 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224596)
depends on alot of things and depends on the classification of data -> for confidential systems, well once u are in u will know. we dont take security lightly haha. hence, yes we usually access our prod systems on our mac as well. (after like 10-15 layers of security/vpn/mfa etc.)

is it true that some depts in govtech (e.g. ogp) don't have to follow im8?

Unregistered 06-07-2022 10:10 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224664)
is it true that some depts in govtech (e.g. ogp) don't have to follow im8?

There is no "some" to speak of. It is only OGP that don't have to follow IM8, or for the matter, all the other IMs

Unregistered 07-07-2022 12:19 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224674)
There is no "some" to speak of. It is only OGP that don't have to follow IM8, or for the matter, all the other IMs

is there a rationale for this and why isn't this made more transparent? can other agencies apply to not follow IM as well?

Unregistered 07-07-2022 12:28 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224702)
is there a rationale for this and why isn't this made more transparent? can other agencies apply to not follow IM as well?

lol u find someone with the right surname then come talk lor. ill buy the popcorn

Unregistered 07-07-2022 01:15 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224223)
15yr yoe but accessed to be engineer level only.
Was offered 7k only.

your last drawn lower than 7k ?

if anyone kena pay cut before by govtech ?
such as your last draw is 12-14k x 12mth but they cannot match so they jiaowei say they pay u 10k x 15mth like that ?

Unregistered 07-07-2022 01:59 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224709)
your last drawn lower than 7k ?

if anyone kena pay cut before by govtech ?
such as your last draw is 12-14k x 12mth but they cannot match so they jiaowei say they pay u 10k x 15mth like that ?

Got base pay cut, but total comp was definitely good enough(at least 30%) so that was fine with me.

Unregistered 07-07-2022 02:05 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224702)

Official reason: they are sandbox team that tries new practices and propagate to rest of gov

Actual reason: they have the right D

Unregistered 07-07-2022 09:28 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224711)
Official reason: they are sandbox team that tries new practices and propagate to rest of gov

Actual reason: they have the right D

so what new practices were propagated to the rest of gov after 3 years of existence?

Unregistered8888 07-07-2022 04:33 PM

I have 15 YOE and GovTech recruiter approached me for an Agile PM role.
I said agile was new to me as I was a newly minted CSM in 2020.
He says "its ok - the WOG is moving towards agile! But we need your to take an online test.. If the results are good we will hire you as a perm but if not good we might only offer you a contract role. Benefits wise no difference"
So I took the test and I failed (LOL) got ghosted for like 2 weeks which I thought ok la maybe they not keen and that was when GovTech called me back to say "Ok - we like to offer your but it will be on contract." Also, Salary wise we cannot match your expected but will be happy to match your current.

No prize to guessing what I told the recruiter

Unregistered 07-07-2022 09:16 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered8888 (Post 224751)
I have 15 YOE and GovTech recruiter approached me for an Agile PM role.
I said agile was new to me as I was a newly minted CSM in 2020.
He says "its ok - the WOG is moving towards agile! But we need your to take an online test.. If the results are good we will hire you as a perm but if not good we might only offer you a contract role. Benefits wise no difference"
So I took the test and I failed (LOL) got ghosted for like 2 weeks which I thought ok la maybe they not keen and that was when GovTech called me back to say "Ok - we like to offer your but it will be on contract." Also, Salary wise we cannot match your expected but will be happy to match your current.

No prize to guessing what I told the recruiter

you hire under recruiter or govtech? probably recruiter eat up your portion!

Unregistered 08-07-2022 04:46 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224710)
Got base pay cut, but total comp was definitely good enough(at least 30%) so that was fine with me.

same experience. base pay lower than what i was offered by other companies but total compensation makes up for it.

Unregistered 08-07-2022 04:48 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224723)
so what new practices were propagated to the rest of gov after 3 years of existence?

hope they can propagate and let the rest of govt agencies use github and notion instead of ****. opps i mean SHIP

Unregistered 08-07-2022 04:50 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224467)
mind sharing your yoe and pay for comparison?

my junior with 2 YOE last time also drawing 6k. end up complain pay too low and left for higher paying job

Unregistered 08-07-2022 08:44 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224791)
my junior with 2 YOE last time also drawing 6k. end up complain pay too low and left for higher paying job

my senior with 8 YOE last time also drawing 6K. end up...

Unregistered 08-07-2022 10:14 AM

Suggest we do no reveal too much about govt computing environment here else later kenna clamp down.

Unregistered8888 08-07-2022 11:45 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224770)
you hire under recruiter or govtech? probably recruiter eat up your portion!

GovTech recruiter not some body shop company. Really bad candidate experience.

Unregistered 08-07-2022 02:57 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224797)
Suggest we do no reveal too much about govt computing environment here else later kenna clamp down.

there is a reason PUBLIC sector bro

Unregistered 08-07-2022 05:16 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224809)
there is a reason PUBLIC sector bro

Still dunno total value of singapore assets

Unregistered 10-07-2022 08:27 PM

GovTech mainly offers permanent employment or on an annual contract basis?

Unregistered 10-07-2022 09:35 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 224998)
GovTech mainly offers permanent employment or on an annual contract basis?

contract

10char