-   Companies (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/)
-   -   GovTech (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/8982-govtech.html)

Unregistered 14-06-2022 11:46 AM

Singapore-based Crypto.com cutting 260 jobs as market meltdown worries swirl

s://.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/singapore-based-cryptocom-cutting-260-jobs-as-market-meltdown-worries-swirl

Unregistered 14-06-2022 11:30 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221556)
3 pending GT interviews (2 via Scientec and 1 direct)
the direct hire is 2nd round this week.
All 3 are for Devops/cloud roles.

i have a 2nd interview with a small mnc X? (<50 pple local SG and HQ is in US)
the glassdoor review for X is very good, saw their FB and photos.
typical close-knit family, eat together, play together, work hard play hard kind.
is like those have soccer table in office type and wear causally.
mix multiracial got ang moh (interviewed me) but he was cheerful and easy going unlike the GT interviews, some (not all), i feel they looking at me from up there.

i am early 40s this year Snr IT manager with AWS SA cert and self learn bit devops tools.
i am quite confident to go the devops/cloud path because i don't like vendor management and user support.

should i put in 200% effort in GT or 200% in the MNC?

Can't comment on MNC X, but would strongly advise against getting into GT via Scientec. You get none of the GT benefits, you're technically not an employee of GT, and Scientec takes a huge cut of your pay from GT. Go direct whenever possible.

Unregistered 14-06-2022 11:43 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221807)
Singapore-based Crypto.com cutting 260 jobs as market meltdown worries swirl

s://.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/singapore-based-cryptocom-cutting-260-jobs-as-market-meltdown-worries-swirl

Coinbase is laying off 1,100 employees as Bitcoin prices continue to fall

s://.theverge.com/2022/6/14/23167219/coinbase-layoffs-crypto-winter-ceo-bitcoin-prices

Unregistered 15-06-2022 09:23 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221695)
Senior exec in a sme. 6yrs. Annual 58k.

That's very low. AM with 6 years experience should be at about a Grade F (senior associate) or G (manager). The annual package should be considerably better than what you're drawing.

Unregistered 17-06-2022 12:22 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221955)
Coinbase is laying off 1,100 employees as Bitcoin prices continue to fall

s://.theverge.com/2022/6/14/23167219/coinbase-layoffs-crypto-winter-ceo-bitcoin-prices

Recession coming liao... sianz...

Unregistered 17-06-2022 01:53 PM

Recession everyone come GovTech, talent boost

Unregistered 17-06-2022 09:11 PM

whch dept to aim for in GovTech?

GovTech Org Chart
s://.tech.gov.sg/images/our-team/GovTech%20Org%20Chart%20(Effective%208%20Aug%20201 9).pdf

so many see until blur, any insiders know which dept is best or which to avoid?

Unregistered 17-06-2022 09:15 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222482)
GovTech Org Chart
s://.tech.gov.sg/images/our-team/GovTech%20Org%20Chart%20(Effective%208%20Aug%20201 9).pdf

Page not found :(

The requested page could not be found.

Unregistered 17-06-2022 09:23 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222482)
GovTech Org Chart

tiagong avoid SVC unless u in special team like meteor or ESTL (where u are somewhat treated like HQ) otherwise SVC is dog life in agency. hear say de.

Unregistered 17-06-2022 09:38 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222486)
tiagong avoid SVC unless u in special team like meteor or ESTL (where u are somewhat treated like HQ) otherwise SVC is dog life in agency. hear say de.

ESTL is which agency?

Unregistered 17-06-2022 09:40 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222483)

replace s with

h t t p s

Unregistered 17-06-2022 09:42 PM

h t t p s://.tech.gov.sg/images/our-team/GovTech%20Org%20Chart%20(Effective%208%20Aug%20201 9).pdf

Unregistered 17-06-2022 09:52 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222488)
ESTL is which agency?

parked under MOE, you wont find it in agency as they hire directly and posted straight to ESTL. they are neither MX nor GEO and are under Govtech's own scheme as well

Unregistered 17-06-2022 10:21 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222486)

mind to explain more why?

Unregistered 17-06-2022 10:43 PM

So after adjustment those grade G base pay around 9k-9.5k liao ?

Unregistered 17-06-2022 11:05 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222501)
So after adjustment those grade G base pay around 9k-9.5k liao ?

where got so high? you refer to ceiling? heard say range is 5.x - 8.x k last time

Unregistered 17-06-2022 11:07 PM

now all new hire only contract? how they determine to give you perm or contract?

Unregistered 17-06-2022 11:08 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222507)
now all new hire only contract? how they determine to give you perm or contract?

Yes 2 yr renewable

Unregistered 17-06-2022 11:09 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222506)
where got so high? you refer to ceiling? heard say range is 5.x - 8.x k last time

After all the adjustment and aws in monthly

Unregistered 18-06-2022 08:31 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222344)
Recession coming liao... sianz...

so will they cut fresh grad pay?

Unregistered 18-06-2022 08:53 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222534)
so will they cut fresh grad pay?

Govt don't cut base pay one. At most cut AWS/ bonus.

Unregistered 18-06-2022 08:53 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222483)

siao la. govtech cannot recognise url?

Unregistered 18-06-2022 10:11 AM

last heard said got benefits change, when will announce?

Unregistered 19-06-2022 02:49 AM

can ppl describe what kind of projects u work on in govtech?

it seems like a directionless, no focus kind of place since theres no emphasis on profits

i only know of TT

Unregistered 19-06-2022 10:35 AM

Cannot share of cos, just follow the flow as long as u get salary

Unregistered 19-06-2022 10:41 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222614)
can ppl describe what kind of projects u work on in govtech?

it seems like a directionless, no focus kind of place since theres no emphasis on profits

i only know of TT

i will say that it is decentralized by design, team A has no visibility into projs done by team B even though both from the same division.

also, there is many high level blueprints and roadmap of engineering digital govt, if you read up on those. so yes there is a high level direction.

lastly, for the profits part that is not quite true as well. GT actl charges for most projects.

Unregistered 19-06-2022 12:25 PM

there are so many departments in GT.
the job positions in job portals so many, some same pos title but diff job description.
(see till blur liao)

in short, is it just avoid agency hire or post by GT to other ministries etc.
then go direct hire and straight work in HQ, no matter what dept, this is the best route liao??

Unregistered 21-06-2022 11:29 AM

how is the morale on the ground after the May increments?

Unregistered 21-06-2022 12:20 PM

What do you think? Lol.

We only know the rationale of MDR but not how it is calculated. Assuming 2 person with the same YoE and background, can we take it that both will take home similar pay, differences perhaps due to performance?

Also if market were to tank, would this MDR is reduced to zero?

Want to retain staff with this additional top up but yet set many "competency" requirements that can be subjective, how to keep people from worrying and bail out when able to?

Unregistered 21-06-2022 05:52 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222862)
What do you think? Lol.

We only know the rationale of MDR but not how it is calculated. Assuming 2 person with the same YoE and background, can we take it that both will take home similar pay, differences perhaps due to performance?

Want to retain staff with this additional top up but yet set many "competency" requirements that can be subjective, how to keep people from worrying and bail out when able to?

agreed, where is the transparency?

Unregistered 21-06-2022 07:52 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222862)
What do you think? Lol.

competency requirement as in get those cert?

Unregistered 21-06-2022 09:57 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222858)
how is the morale on the ground after the May increments?

I'll say not bad generally. Most grumbling are toxic trolls here.

Unregistered 21-06-2022 10:18 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222956)
I'll say not bad generally. Most grumbling are toxic trolls here.

Pay is in the eye of the beholder, some people need to fund inflated lifestyles

Some people raise families on 4k and make less complaints

Unregistered 22-06-2022 08:06 PM

Been 6 days including wkend since my 2nd interview.
Should I drop email to hr to ask if im still in race
Or wait patiently?

Unregistered 22-06-2022 10:48 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 223080)
Or wait patiently?

u are interviewing for direct role issit? 2nd interview as in 6 days ago u submitted ur technical assessment? or 2nd interview past ur tech assessment?

Unregistered 22-06-2022 11:19 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 223080)
Or wait patiently?

no harm dropping email to hr as with all other interviews GovTech or otherwise...

Unregistered 23-06-2022 11:33 PM

copied from OGP thread s://forums.salary.sg/companies/14647-open-government-products-under-govtech.html#post223141

- doesn't have to comply with IM8/ govt infra/ security/ HR standards and still can boast that they are more lean/agile than other dev units. That's like comparing 100m sprint speeds in running vs swimming.
- main value proposition is that they can bypass aforementioned standards
- spends 1/12 of the year on "hackathons" churning out semi-useless vanity projects
- even after said hackathons, most useful products are still google forms, bitly and jekyll clones. so innovative.
- shuns anything touching the wog intranet , which is where > 95% of public officers pain points reside. and can still claim that they "listen" and "build for the user".
- is staffed disproportionately by psc scholars but claim they they are inclusive etc.
- only exists because of a certain someone with a certain relation

what so special about OGP?

Unregistered 24-06-2022 12:16 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 223185)
copied from OGP thread s://forums.salary.sg/companies/14647-open-government-products-under-govtech.html#post223141

- doesn't have to comply with IM8/ govt infra/ security/ HR standards and still can boast that they are more lean/agile than other dev units. That's like comparing 100m sprint speeds in running vs swimming.
- spends 1/12 of the year on "hackathons" churning out semi-useless vanity projects
- even after said hackathons, most useful products are still google forms, bitly and jekyll clones. so innovative.
- shuns anything touching the wog intranet , which is where > 95% of public officers pain points reside. and can still claim that they "listen" and "build for the user".
- is staffed disproportionately by psc scholars but claim they they are inclusive etc.

Got special privileges lor. Their pay structure different from govtech one (hint: much higher).

Unregistered 24-06-2022 12:16 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 223185)

Let the obvious answer stay in the ogp thread. No need to try to start a flaming contest. I would rather complain on the im8 thats totally outdated and doesnt work in todays cloud infra

Unregistered 24-06-2022 12:23 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 223188)
Got special privileges lor. Their pay structure different from govtech one (hint: much higher).

why much higher?