-   Companies (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/)
-   -   GovTech (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/8982-govtech.html)

Unregistered 04-06-2022 12:11 PM

Please, all of you losers aren’t even earning big bucks in GovTech

keep coping in this forum

Unregistered 04-06-2022 12:31 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 220300)

and where are you earning your big bucks mr big bucks sir

Unregistered 04-06-2022 12:31 PM

bro, time to eat your medicine
yeah, what we earn just enough for our surviving

Unregistered 05-06-2022 01:23 AM

This guy/girl is a reminder of the dark side of our competitive upbringing. Insecure, sees only value in material gains and always needing to reassure himself/herself by looking around and bringing others down. You're never going to be happy and die bitter.

Unregistered 05-06-2022 08:39 AM

You all make govtech sound like a shithole leh.
So govtech good for junior and senior?

Mid level level is kind of shitty n low pay

Unregistered 05-06-2022 11:37 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 220407)

sounds about right

Unregistered 05-06-2022 11:54 AM

yeah, junior got promoted every year even tho shitty performance, make false impression "I am performing good, lets keep it that way"

Unregistered 05-06-2022 05:02 PM

Good to learn, pay is pretty good if you are in a junior position.

But as all government jobs will be, it will probably be bad to progress (unless you scholar ah, then that one diff story).

Unregistered 05-06-2022 05:37 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 220467)
Good to learn, pay is pretty good if you are in a junior position.

But as all government jobs will be, it will probably be bad to progress (unless you scholar ah, then that one diff story).

scholar thingy is same for those in ST , and those management program in MNC
fast track auto promote path with minimum effort

Unregistered 05-06-2022 06:21 PM

s://.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/civil-servant-salaries-adjusted-keep-pace-market-23000-officers-psd-2728246

About 23,000 civil servants to benefit from salary increases of between 5% and 14%

Unregistered 05-06-2022 10:45 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 220488)
s://.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/civil-servant-salaries-adjusted-keep-pace-market-23000-officers-psd-2728246

About 23,000 civil servants to benefit from salary increases of between 5% and 14%

Govtech not under mx scheme

Unregistered 06-06-2022 10:23 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 220488)

Wow.. another of adjustment again in Aug? Quite surprised

Unregistered 06-06-2022 10:31 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 220566)

Already say Govtech not under mx scheme, you cant read isit?

Unregistered 06-06-2022 01:47 PM

how much is a fresh graduate ogp / tap / contract hire paid? why the difference?

Unregistered 07-06-2022 02:15 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 220607)
how much is a fresh graduate ogp / tap / contract hire paid? why the difference?

Sensitive question boss, sensitive question

Unregistered 07-06-2022 02:43 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 220566)

Wow!! I think they are going to increase the pay to 8k now!!

Unregistered 07-06-2022 08:42 AM

hiring freeze now!

Unregistered 07-06-2022 03:03 PM

Anyone knows whats the pay for BA position? Junior position

Unregistered 08-06-2022 01:09 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 220768)
Anyone knows whats the pay for BA position? Junior position

How many YOE?

Unregistered 08-06-2022 08:51 PM

Mgmt resignation

I is CPO leaving?

Unregistered 08-06-2022 09:07 PM

Oh. Why is she leaving?

Unregistered 09-06-2022 08:27 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221002)
Oh. Why is she leaving?

capable people always have exit to higher pastures

Unregistered 09-06-2022 08:48 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 220925)
How many YOE?

2 years of experience

Unregistered 09-06-2022 10:54 AM

Is GovTech a good place to be at before pivoting to other good tech companies? Like a jumping ground

Unregistered 09-06-2022 11:19 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221069)
Is GovTech a good place to be at before pivoting to other good tech companies? Like a jumping ground

YES, certainly. Even alot of directors also jump to other companies recently.

Unregistered 10-06-2022 08:40 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221074)
YES, certainly. Even alot of directors also jump to other companies recently.

Who would want to work for bosses who either only know how to sit around drawing high pay and doing minimal work, or bosses who have CEPed in their previous roles and then air-dropped in from the other parts of the ecosystem, and don't know technology or how to run tech teams?

Unregistered 10-06-2022 11:16 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221193)
Who would want to work for bosses who either only know how to sit around drawing high pay and doing minimal work, or bosses who have CEPed in their previous roles and then air-dropped in from the other parts of the ecosystem, and don't know technology or how to run tech teams?

the current ones that are staying

Unregistered 10-06-2022 11:19 AM

sounds right but yet narrow at the same time.

Unregistered 10-06-2022 11:28 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221221)
sounds right but yet narrow at the same time.

Agreed. Most bosses at GovTech do not fall into that category

Unregistered 10-06-2022 01:57 PM

Seems to be occurring more frequently in the last year or so. Don't even know why they are considered for the positions. Zero value add and generate useless busywork in org

Unregistered 10-06-2022 06:09 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221251)
Seems to be occurring more frequently in the last year or so. Don't even know why they are considered for the positions. Zero value add and generate useless busywork in org

The sit around, do nothing types have been around for the past few years lah. No one seems to be able to remove them or have the balls to do so...

Unregistered 12-06-2022 06:26 PM

GT or a small work hard play hard MNC

3 pending GT interviews (2 via Scientec and 1 direct)
the direct hire is 2nd round this week.
All 3 are for Devops/cloud roles.

i have a 2nd interview with a small mnc X? (<50 pple local SG and HQ is in US)
the glassdoor review for X is very good, saw their FB and photos.
typical close-knit family, eat together, play together, work hard play hard kind.
is like those have soccer table in office type and wear causally.
mix multiracial got ang moh (interviewed me) but he was cheerful and easy going unlike the GT interviews, some (not all), i feel they looking at me from up there.

i am early 40s this year Snr IT manager with AWS SA cert and self learn bit devops tools.
i am quite confident to go the devops/cloud path because i don't like vendor management and user support.

should i put in 200% effort in GT or 200% in the MNC?

Unregistered 12-06-2022 10:29 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221556)
3 pending GT interviews (2 via Scientec and 1 direct)
the direct hire is 2nd round this week.
All 3 are for Devops/cloud roles.

i have a 2nd interview with a small mnc X? (<50 pple local SG and HQ is in US)
the glassdoor review for X is very good, saw their FB and photos.
typical close-knit family, eat together, play together, work hard play hard kind.
is like those have soccer table in office type and wear causally.
mix multiracial got ang moh (interviewed me) but he was cheerful and easy going unlike the GT interviews, some (not all), i feel they looking at me from up there.

i am early 40s this year Snr IT manager with AWS SA cert and self learn bit devops tools.
i am quite confident to go the devops/cloud path because i don't like vendor management and user support.

should i put in 200% effort in GT or 200% in the MNC?

You already answered yourself there.

Unregistered 13-06-2022 02:55 PM

Managed infrastructure hosting (MIH)

is this a division or dept in GT?
many staff or not?
is it support ENTIRE GT related projects?

anybody can share some insights of MIH within GT?

Unregistered 13-06-2022 05:11 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221629)
Managed infrastructure hosting (MIH)

is this a division or dept in GT?
many staff or not?
is it support ENTIRE GT related projects?

anybody can share some insights of MIH within GT?

If i am not wrong, it is a team under GIG under Product Development in HQ side. Yes should be supporting WOG initiatives such as Govt Commercial Cloud.

What role are u applying for and how many YoE?

Unregistered 13-06-2022 07:53 PM

What's GT hierarchy like? So if title is AM, is it the same as a AM outside in a private/MNC sector? Just don't want to enter already then realise its like a bank, AM actually = senior exec. Also whats a good salary offer for a AM level? Also is GT offering contract roles only now? I heard they no longer offer perm.

Unregistered 13-06-2022 09:30 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221664)
What's GT hierarchy like? So if title is AM, is it the same as a AM outside in a private/MNC sector? Just don't want to enter already then realise its like a bank, AM actually = senior exec. Also whats a good salary offer for a AM level? Also is GT offering contract roles only now? I heard they no longer offer perm.

what is your role, YOE, current pay?

Unregistered 13-06-2022 10:15 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221683)
what is your role, YOE, current pay?

Senior exec in a sme. 6yrs. Annual 58k.

Unregistered 13-06-2022 10:22 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 221695)
Senior exec in a sme. 6yrs. Annual 58k.

that is actl quite low, believe GT will offer you a higher package regardless.

Unregistered 14-06-2022 12:42 AM

Job application timeline

Hi, can anyone share what’s the timeline to get hired as a ux designer? From application to phone call and interviews…