Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Career as Teacher (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1758-career-teacher.html)

Unregistered 21-06-2015 01:05 PM

To be teacher, need to pass spelling, mental sums, ting xie, mo xie?

JT123 23-06-2015 09:37 AM

I am applying for the PGDE for window 17 Aug 2015 - 4 Sep 2015 window. I am mid career professional.

1. When can I expect a interview call. Is it as they state during the window Sep - Oct 2015. Or if i apply earlier, they just call you earlier
2. Can those you have gone for the interview please share what kind of essay titles and presentation is asked?

thanks

Unregistered 23-06-2015 10:12 PM

Anyone knows if there will be any salary adjustments for teachers anytime soon? The last adjustment was in 2012.

Unregistered 23-06-2015 10:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Metoo (Post 68380)
Nope. I have 3 years overseas teaching experience. Already went for the interview, waiting for the results.

Wow... I applied same window, and only got an e-mail saying still under consideration and must wait till 30 June. Then again, it could be a good thing, indicator that they haven't yet found what they're looking for even after interviewing for some time.

I think the selection tends to favour younger age applicants, as there's more potential for advancement and leadership roles in their future. I have teaching experience, and post-grad quals locally, so only age is the determining factor.

The thing that still attracts me to teaching in MOE school is the PGDE which is a recognised teaching qualification. And valuable even after leaving teaching service. Also the more "fixed" nature of the job and subject contents.

Unregistered 02-07-2015 01:13 AM

read a lot of horror stories about life as a teacher...is the work-life balance of teachers really THAT bad across the board?