Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Compare civil service salary (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/885-compare-civil-service-salary.html)

Unregistered 25-09-2021 11:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 184113)
Can anyone share insights on the stability of a Govt job? As I have been working for 6 months as a fresh grad at a stat board, work life balance is decent but I mainly joined for the stability, as I was willing to sacrifice on the pay. But after hearing from some of my friends in private sector like banks etc., they are earning more than me and as an average graduate, my progression is likely fixed. I have yet to experience the stability of the job since I’m only 6 months in.
Should I leave for the private sector after 2/3 years and can anyone share some stories on the stability of a Govt job

Well for our parents generation, there are people who spent their entire career all the way to retirement in government. Is that the kind of stability you are looking for?

Unregistered 25-09-2021 11:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 184114)
If you are mostly average, better stay in govt. At least got a level of certainty with progression and bonus, with stability and work life balance. I haven't heard of anyone retrenched by govt due to covid so far.

I'm not a scholar but just a graduate from local uni, nothing good or bad to rave about. But I would consider myself to just be average?

Unregistered 25-09-2021 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 184119)
Well for our parents generation, there are people who spent their entire career all the way to retirement in government. Is that the kind of stability you are looking for?