Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Lawyer Salary (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/771-lawyer-salary.html)

Unregistered 29-05-2022 11:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 219491)
“legal academia requires so much more sacrifice than just going straight into practice.”

Hahahhahahahahahha. That’s all I need to say in response to the absurd suggestion.

Anyone who believes that the academic life requires “sacrifice” clearly has never been an academic.

Unregistered 29-05-2022 11:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 219533)
is litigation really that bad? I am a law student. if liti is so sh-t then why would people still choose liti?

Liti lawyer here. Liti is more fun and intellectual stimulating than corporate work IMO. You are actually doing work that people associate with lawyers - analysing the law, crafting arguments, arguing before a judge/arbitrator, cross-examining witnesses, etc. Through your arguments in court, you can actually contribute to the development of the law and see your cases being reported, which is very fulfilling.

Corporate lawyering is not really "legal" per se and is more about finding precedents, due diligence, going through closing checklists, quibbling over language in a contract. If you went to law school wanting to actually practise law, I don't feel like corporate work scratches the itch.

People who moan about liti are usually people who don't enjoy such work in the first place. They have no passion for the law and it's just means of income to them. If so, then sure, you can make as much or more money as a corporate lawyer.

Unregistered 29-05-2022 12:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 219533)
is litigation really that bad? I am a law student. if liti is so sh-t then why would people still choose liti?