Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Career as Teacher (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1758-career-teacher.html)

Educator 02-03-2020 11:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 129518)
Hi, I’m a teacher of 7-8 years at GEO4. I’m considering switching to Flexi-Adjunct as I just can’t take the demands of a language teacher and the time away from family, as I’m too busy setting, marking, planning and prepping, is taking its toll on my emotional and mental health. I’d like to know what’s the range for the salary if I switch? Does anyone know?

Have been doing FAJT for a few years now. FAJTs are hourly rated according to your last drawn grade. Becos the availability of FAJTs are dependent on school needs,it is not so stable. Personally I have to switch schools when my services no longer needed. Overall monthly pay has dropped by half and considering you are not paid during June,Nov and Dec,the annual pay cut can drop by two-thirds. Do consider very carefully. But there are pros as well as you mentioned above.

Unregistered 03-03-2020 11:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Educator (Post 129532)
Have been doing FAJT for a few years now. FAJTs are hourly rated according to your last drawn grade. Becos the availability of FAJTs are dependent on school needs,it is not so stable. Personally I have to switch schools when my services no longer needed. Overall monthly pay has dropped by half and considering you are not paid during June,Nov and Dec,the annual pay cut can drop by two-thirds. Do consider very carefully. But there are pros as well as you mentioned above.

May I know what is the hourly rate of a FAJT? For an experienced ex-MOE teacher who has been in the service for about 12 years, teaching EL in primary school. Thank you in advance!

Unregistered 03-03-2020 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 129590)