Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Really that bad for engineers? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/866-really-bad-engineers.html)

Unregistered 30-11-2012 04:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 31088)
okay, i have been computing for ..~8 years, now i am a staff engineer, earning 6.7k /month.

btw my degree is in mechanical. but tht time when i just graduated i cannot find job for 6 months (from NTU, tht is SARS period).. so get my first job as software developer at only 1.5k ( appreciate tht the boss did not mind my background)

you asked switching to computing is it a right choice? when i look at my peers who are in mechanical, i think i made the right choie (no choice actually)

i am in my early 30s, if you dun compare to doctors, lawyer.. i think engineers is a decent job.

i believe IT pays better than engineering. i know people in IT (project manager, sales, service delivery) getting over $200K per year after about 13 years of working.

Unregistered 30-11-2012 04:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by poor and stupid (Post 31090)
That is higher than normal mech grads not in o&g, dun mind me asking, what kind of computing are you involved in(application, system, web...)? did you go for any courses or get any certifications along the way?

I am doing firmware, aka embedded software.. previously in consumer electornic product , just join 1 providing industrial solution..

yah ofcourse cannot compare to oil and gas, but oil &gas also need quite a number of firmware people, Haliburton is hiring firmware enginner in their drilling automation..but they need ppl with DSP (digital signal processing) experience.

poor and stupid 30-11-2012 06:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 31096)
I am doing firmware, aka embedded software.. previously in consumer electornic product , just join 1 providing industrial solution..