-   -   Anyone jobless for a long time before? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/2271-anyone-jobless-long-time-before.html)

Unregistered 13-07-2022 06:16 PM

I am female 24 years old. I have no skills, only got n level cert. I could barely answer single question during interview. Thank goodness i wore low cut top n short skirt w no panties that day, i was given job offer on the spot.

now i everyday report to work n do nothing. Report at 10am, got 2 hours lunch break, 4pm can knock off. Whole day i just need to sit in front of big boss and smile at him.

Best part is i am paid SGD 500,000 per annum and promoted every year.

Some of my friends who got degree n phd jobless for 3 years liao or those with job work 8am to 11pm but only earn 60k per annum.

Unregistered 13-07-2022 11:23 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 225265)
I am female 24 years old. I have no skills, only got n level cert. I could barely answer single question during interview. Thank goodness i wore low cut top n short skirt w no panties that day, i was given job offer on the spot.

now i everyday report to work n do nothing. Report at 10am, got 2 hours lunch break, 4pm can knock off. Whole day i just need to sit in front of big boss and smile at him.

Some of my friends who got degree n phd jobless for 3 years liao or those with job work 8am to 11pm but only earn 60k per annum.

my mother also wore like this and was given toliet cleaner role

Unregistered 14-08-2022 08:54 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 225265)

very CSB BS of yours

Blueberry 20-10-2022 09:10 AM

This thread has since stopped getting new posts. There are lesser unemployed peeps now judging from this thread. Good thing to know noone seem to be grumbling that he can't find jobs.

Unregistered 20-10-2022 10:04 AM

Originally Posted by Blueberry (Post 233005)
This thread has since stopped getting new posts. There are lesser unemployed peeps now judging from this thread. Good thing to know noone seem to be grumbling that he can't find jobs.

Soon this will happen again….

Unregistered 20-10-2022 10:44 AM

Hey ladies if your bf is finding a job can come work for me thx

Unregistered 20-10-2022 03:31 PM

I just graduated from local uni with average grade as a computing student. Currently jobless and grinding leetcode.

Unregistered 20-10-2022 03:54 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 233022)
I just graduated from local uni with average grade as a computing student. Currently jobless and grinding leetcode.

average grade and grinding leetcode doesnt gel.

loveburgersandfries 10-11-2022 08:22 PM

yup at one point even though i was jobless full time, i took up a part time cashier job just to support myself :) anyway, if jobless, i think one way is to take a course to upskill. i think skillsfuture programs will help. i know of ppl who went for the BCG rise program, then afterwards got a job.

Unregistered 11-11-2022 08:12 AM

Originally Posted by Blueberry (Post 233005)

very soon this will change

Unregistered 14-11-2022 11:53 PM

Graduated from local uni. worked full time as engineer for few months. Cant stand going for meetings and do a desk job. Everyday i feel more sluggish. Vicious cycle of mon - fri 9-6 job, "rest" during weekends then back to office.

Got other field or job to recommend anot? This life damn crap.

Unregistered 15-11-2022 10:42 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 234871)
Graduated from local uni. worked full time as engineer for few months. Cant stand going for meetings and do a desk job. Everyday i feel more sluggish. Vicious cycle of mon - fri 9-6 job, "rest" during weekends then back to office.

You sound like you are below 30.
If you are in the engineering industry, you can switch to these roles:

Engineering related sourcing roles; Procurement
Supplier Quality Management
Outsource process engineering
Supplier Advance Product Quality Planning
Regional/Global Customer Applications

These type of roles allow you to travel. Depending on the strategy, some of the travelling can be very overwhelming if you can take it. But also mean you need to take up additional courses like Lean six sigma and CQE first. A PMP to add on will help too. Look out for such roles in your current company and apply for change. Or go and get a LSS Green belt / CQE certificate before moving out of your company into those roles.

Unregistered 15-11-2022 11:15 PM

I know of a friend who went into technician job even with a local degree cert. He say he tired of office jobs too so decided to downgrade and work in a really hands on role. Not sure if its for long term or not.

Blueberry 16-11-2022 01:59 PM

Work in healthcare. You sure get very 'awake' and not sluggish.

Unregistered 16-11-2022 02:49 PM

Originally Posted by Blueberry (Post 234945)
Work in healthcare. You sure get very 'awake' and not sluggish.

what healthcare can he join? he from engineering though.

Unregistered 16-11-2022 03:36 PM

Come join tech lol I know there's mass layoffs but not for mid sized tech companies.

I'm working for a famous car AI company in Singapore and I do like 2 hours of work a day... Full remote since 2021. 7k monthly, bonus damn low like 6% but it's worth it.

If you have engineering background you can surely become a dev.

Unregistered 16-11-2022 04:48 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 234956)
Come join tech lol I know there's mass layoffs but not for mid sized tech companies.

I'm working for a famous car AI company in Singapore and I do like 2 hours of work a day... Full remote since 2021. 7k monthly, bonus damn low like 6% but it's worth it.

If you have engineering background you can surely become a dev.

Yo intro pls LOL . 7k monthly , low bonus also nvm. If dont like coding how?

Unregistered 14-02-2023 01:46 PM

Hello recognized by the Singapore Association for Counselling

Unregistered 14-02-2023 03:35 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 234924)
I know of a friend who went into technician job even with a local degree cert. He say he tired of office jobs too so decided to downgrade and work in a really hands on role. Not sure if its for long term or not.

Yeah same; there was a technician in my old workplace who grad from NTU with good grades. Good for him as he found satisfaction with what he was doing, plus he gets paid for OT unlike the engineers in that company.

Juann 29-03-2023 10:08 AM

Is there anyone here currently unemployed? Feel free to share and talk here.
I have been out of work since Dec last year.

What are guys doing during your jobless period?

Unregistered 29-03-2023 11:46 AM

if u in tech sure have job one la it's only whether u picky or not. ST hiring aggressively but benefit and pay like dogshit.

Juann 29-03-2023 11:49 AM

I not in tech. I in Science based.

Unregistered 29-03-2023 12:44 PM

Originally Posted by Juann (Post 244133)

same here, kena fired last year, everyday i just come here troll and watch porn

shag

Juann 29-03-2023 01:14 PM

Out of so many applications, only 2companies call me for interview.

How about you?
Why kena fired?

Juann 30-03-2023 08:02 AM

Wondering how is the job market nowadays?

Unregistered 30-03-2023 10:24 AM

being through a few unsuccessful full time position interviews.

some handle it professionally process wise
they r those who ghost applicant ie call off the 2nd round appointment w/o telling candidate
some finally give reply after 3 reminders

that really sucks

Unregistered 30-03-2023 10:49 AM

Originally Posted by Juann (Post 244159)
Out of so many applications, only 2companies call me for interview.

How about you?
Why kena fired?

boss shout at me in public so i told him "fk you bitch dont shout at me", HR told me go home same day and then fired next day

was working in paypal

Unregistered 30-03-2023 11:04 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 244270)
boss shout at me in public so i told him "fk you bitch dont shout at me", HR told me go home same day and then fired next day

was working in paypal

wah that one is maciam VAR already
u are still offside, can't help one
by virtue of insubordination, they can kick u out

Juann 30-03-2023 11:26 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 244267)
being through a few unsuccessful full time position interviews.

some handle it professionally process wise
they r those who ghost applicant ie call off the 2nd round appointment w/o telling candidate
some finally give reply after 3 reminders

that really sucks

How long have you been unemployed?
May I know how you explain the job gap?

After being out of work, I am so lost. Bcoz the area that I interested not much vacancy right now.

Unregistered 30-03-2023 02:13 PM

Originally Posted by Juann (Post 244279)

After being out of work, I am so lost. Bcoz the area that I interested not much vacancy right now.

You resigned or asked to leave ? Don't be shy. Just share if you can.

The job market now actually quite ok according to a statistics showing most ppl are employed.
I also find that change job very difficult. Esp when you have your own criteria about the job.

Juann 30-03-2023 04:06 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 244306)
You resigned or asked to leave ? Don't be shy. Just share if you can.

The job market now actually quite ok according to a statistics showing most ppl are employed.
I also find that change job very difficult. Esp when you have your own criteria about the job.

The job was a contract job for 2years. But I left quite early like 2-3months after joined since I feel the job was not a right fit for me.

Really dunno what to do. I am in Science field and only experience working in laboratory in my entire career. Don't ask me go to research bcz this area also not my liking. Thinking of switch career but don't know what is the best for me.

Unregistered 30-03-2023 10:08 PM

Originally Posted by Juann (Post 244279)

last full time job finished end Dec 2022
so was out of action / unemployed for abt 9 weeks
apply for different jobs (full time, contract, temp etc)
all did ask abt what I do in between period
whilst i do admit i was applying for a few places, during the down-time i spend some time to take a short mental break (also busy with hands on deck with my primary school child as well).

full time job went for 4 different interviews
at least those that bother to infd me the rejection, ok fair enuff, they at least did bother to inform within the stipulated time frame
one only bother to inform after i ask on the status thrice (not every day ask...i space out abt 2-3 weeks per enquiry)

the most tokgong 放飞机 one is i went for panel interview (3 person) alongside 4 other interview participants
of whh me and another person was shortlisted for 2nd round
suppose to hear from the hiring ministry within a week
no sound no news
the HR coordinator also find it weird
so check out with the ministry
and found out the ministry decide not to proceed with 2nd round after filling up the headcount (either by internal hiring or etc???)
wah really put aeroplane to the max

Unregistered 30-03-2023 11:49 PM

Originally Posted by Juann (Post 244133)

jobless for a year retrenched. Everyday just use the severance package, to go geylang enjoy.

u may try that. helps to destress and helps forget about your plight.

Unregistered 31-03-2023 12:58 AM

jobless for 1 year already. UOL 2nd upper. Ask for 4k nia, those pb always try to lowball me.

Juann 31-03-2023 10:22 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 244395)
jobless for 1 year already. UOL 2nd upper. Ask for 4k nia, those pb always try to lowball me.

u looking for a job in what field?
For me, I also lower a bit my salary expectation from my previous job. But if go lower than that really jialat.

Juann 31-03-2023 10:38 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 244368)
last full time job finished end Dec 2022
so was out of action / unemployed for abt 9 weeks
apply for different jobs (full time, contract, temp etc)
all did ask abt what I do in between period
whilst i do admit i was applying for a few places, during the down-time i spend some time to take a short mental break (also busy with hands on deck with my primary school child as well).

full time job went for 4 different interviews
at least those that bother to infd me the rejection, ok fair enuff, they at least did bother to inform within the stipulated time frame
one only bother to inform after i ask on the status thrice (not every day ask...i space out abt 2-3 weeks per enquiry)

the most tokgong 放飞机 one is i went for panel interview (3 person) alongside 4 other interview participants
of whh me and another person was shortlisted for 2nd round
suppose to hear from the hiring ministry within a week
no sound no news
the HR coordinator also find it weird
so check out with the ministry
and found out the ministry decide not to proceed with 2nd round after filling up the headcount (either by internal hiring or etc???)
wah really put aeroplane to the max

What field or area are you looking for? Are you in early 40?
Even I applied the entry level job or junior position and went for the interview also been rejected.

Can I ask, you said that you got doing part time during your unemployment periods. Does the interviewers will ask more questions about the part time job and will they ask for any prove for the part time job?

Unregistered 31-03-2023 02:24 PM

Originally Posted by Juann (Post 244418)
What field or area are you looking for? Are you in early 40?
Even I applied the entry level job or junior position and went for the interview also been rejected.

Can I ask, you said that you got doing part time during your unemployment periods. Does the interviewers will ask more questions about the part time job and will they ask for any prove for the part time job?

yes early 40s

so far the panels that i went earlier did ask abt what I was doing after the last full time contract (accumulative 4 years with previous company), I did disclose that other than looking after my kids, I was applying for different roles

(when come to this kind of stage, no point to hide...show hand already cos they would have also skim thrgh the job history on the CV and ask anyway)

for those part time job, very easy for their HR side to check / verify with the company given got IC details (partial becos of PDPA) or the name etc so very likely can get the info/verify if the person was indeed working in the particular place/govt sector/agency

Unregistered 10-05-2023 08:50 PM

Been jobless for 2.5 years. Feeling really shet, sometimes feel like jump down. To make matter worse, I gambled all my savings 150k on gambling and lost everything.

Unregistered 10-05-2023 09:16 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 248088)
Been jobless for 2.5 years. Feeling really shet, sometimes feel like jump down. To make matter worse, I gambled all my savings 150k on gambling and lost everything.

u got go seek help?

Unregistered 11-05-2023 09:02 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 248088)

Wait. How do you survive for 2.5 years with no savings? Story does not gel