Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Career as Teacher (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1758-career-teacher.html)

Unregistered 16-12-2022 08:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 237213)
Just curious if other jobs in the civil service are as demanding as a teacher’s job? Do they need to work in the evenings and on weekends as well?

For similar pay ranges, it's quite common to have to take significant amounts of work home. I'm a teacher myself but I don't exactly envy my peers in some other ministries, at least those who aspire to climb the ladder. If you want to 'quiet quit' you can do it, but if you want to climb it's the same old s**t again: work above your paygrade, get appointed to positions but have to wait for a few years to get the promotion in subgrade, etc etc. This disease is not confined to MOE, it's a civil service wide practice.

Unregistered 16-12-2022 09:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 237227)
For similar pay ranges, it's quite common to have to take significant amounts of work home. I'm a teacher myself but I don't exactly envy my peers in some other ministries, at least those who aspire to climb the ladder. If you want to 'quiet quit' you can do it, but if you want to climb it's the same old s**t again: work above your paygrade, get appointed to positions but have to wait for a few years to get the promotion in subgrade, etc etc. This disease is not confined to MOE, it's a civil service wide practice.

I guess it is more of the local working culture. It’s not just the teaching profession that is challenging nowadays.

Unregistered 16-12-2022 09:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 237227)

Pardon me, but what’s the disease? Working hard and getting promoted sounds standard

Unregistered 17-12-2022 12:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 237231)