-   Companies (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/)
-   -   GovTech (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/8982-govtech.html)

Unregistered 27-10-2023 01:56 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259018)
Basically they dun renew any contracts now. Approval for exceptional case only by the CE.

He should know that GT has no more headcount for indeed, so the whole thing to me is we are being toyed around

Unregistered 27-10-2023 02:08 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259042)
Yes we know. Blame the fking CE. Last time before joining always promise got chance to convert after 1 year. Fk up. No headcount still want to absorb Indeed.

An example of poor leadership

Unregistered 27-10-2023 02:13 PM

Indeed hire decision was made by current CE meh? Or previous? Or someone else?

Unregistered 27-10-2023 02:35 PM

Isn't it a fact that a lot of people hired by govtech were weak. You can see it in meetings. Tons of people without tech or engineering background even joined and all they contribute is infighting or forever talking vague ideas, no value compared to even startups or mid tier tech companies. Even people from SMEs joined, hiding behind engagement or product functions. Good to cull the poor performers so everyone can function better. Looking forward to the next q&a on this.

Unregistered 27-10-2023 03:14 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259057)
Isn't it a fact that a lot of people hired by govtech were weak. You can see it in meetings. Tons of people without tech or engineering background even joined and all they contribute is infighting or forever talking vague ideas, no value compared to even startups or mid tier tech companies. Even people from SMEs joined, hiding behind engagement or product functions. Good to cull the poor performers so everyone can function better. Looking forward to the next q&a on this.

+1

I srsly wonder why most of the people in this forum failed to see this major issue… it is just too obvious not to see… maybe we are the more competent ones :D

Unregistered 27-10-2023 03:20 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259063)
+1

I srsly wonder why most of the people in this forum failed to see this major issue… it is just too obvious not to see… maybe we are the more competent ones :D

+2, Why are staff whose contracts ending are still allowed to stay especially when there is no new projects? The division who need to let the most people go is probably the cause of all these.

Just hope that its fair across all teams and not privilege to some.

Unregistered 27-10-2023 03:46 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259064)
+2, Why are staff whose contracts ending are still allowed to stay especially when there is no new projects? The division who need to let the most people go is probably the cause of all these.

Just hope that its fair across all teams and not privilege to some.

Sadly there is no such thing as fairness… dk how some cui people without technical bkg can even get hired or promoted in GT sia… If these people were interviewed and shortlisted strictly based on GT competencies then they shouldn’t even be hired in the first place.. I have always suspected that there is something wrong with the hiring process.. even if the project urgently need people, GT shouldnt anyhow hire people to join right… like it or not, this also apply to our fellow local residents. Am annoyed that some colleagues are non technical but in GT.. it’s just disgusting.. This is not an IT admin company

Unregistered 27-10-2023 04:17 PM

Everyone here talking as if it's only the pencil pushers who will be let go. But did you really check out if the actual engineers are on contract or perm? Most likely what happens is that "managers" who are not technically there, are on perm scheme, while actual engineers are on contract.

I will just eat the popcorn when I see Govtech regressing to IMDA standards, where pencil pushers rule the day with their outsourcing.

There are multiple ways to slim down and remove underperformers, but getting CE(And why are we getting military paratroopers to lead govtech?) to personally approve every single renewal is the most stupid way to do things

Unregistered 27-10-2023 04:24 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259066)
Everyone here talking as if it's only the pencil pushers who will be let go. But did you really check out if the actual engineers are on contract or perm? Most likely what happens is that "managers" who are not technically there, are on perm scheme, while actual engineers are on contract.

I will just eat the popcorn when I see Govtech regressing to IMDA standards, where pencil pushers rule the day with their outsourcing.

There are multiple ways to slim down and remove underperformers, but getting CE(And why are we getting military paratroopers to lead govtech?) to personally approve every single renewal is the most stupid way to do things

ya hope all underperformers will ultimately be let go.. whether perm or contract. question is can CE accurately identify these jokers?

Unregistered 27-10-2023 04:36 PM

DOn't be jealous of ex Indeed la.

In every sector, there's elite and non elite. Indeed people are the elites. So they will get parachute anywhere while peasants are first to get chopped.

U already see this in civil service and politics. Those who did well during JC time got govt scholarships go Oxford Cambridge, come back become scholar and rise very high, become politician even.

Evne though many are not outstanding, but their initial trajectory already set them up for life.

Same in tech lor. U lucky enough to land a first job like FAANG or equivalent, even if later kena retrenched you will still be elite elsewhere even though you jiak liao bee for the rest of your career.

jesshd 27-10-2023 05:18 PM

Your Chance to Win: Monthly Lucky Draw in Singapore

Hey there, lucky reader! Are you ready for an exciting opportunity that could change your life? Well, you're in luck because we're here to tell you all about the monthly lucky draw happening in Singapore. Get ready to be amazed and keep reading to find out how you can be a part of this incredible chance to win big!
What's the Buzz around this Lucky Draw?
You might be wondering, what's all the buzz about this monthly lucky draw in Singapore? Let us tell you, it's the talk of the town! People from all over the world are flocking to Singapore to participate in this thrilling event. And for good reason too, because the prizes are absolutely mind-blowing!
Prizes that Will Make Your Jaw Drop!
Now, let's talk about the prizes. Brace yourself because you won't believe what's up for grabs. The monthly lucky draw in HDDoor showroom Singapore offers a wide range of prizes that will make your jaw drop. Imagine driving away with some exciting gifts later!
How to participate in this lucky draw?
You're probably thinking, "How can I be a part of this incredible opportunity?" Well, it's easier than you think.
• Visit our HDDoor showroom.
• And make a purchase worth SGD $1500.
• Ta-da! You become eligible to take part in this lucky draw. Your name will be added to the contest.
• 4 lucky winners will get amazing prizes.
Grab Some Exciting Gifts too!
We got you! Not just this luck draw, you will get some gifts that will be useful for your routine life.
• 3rd generation Air pods
• Dyson supersonic hair dryer
• Dyson V12 detect slim absolute Vacuum Cleaner
Conclusion
There you have it, folks! Your chance to win big in the monthly lucky draw in Singapore. It's an opportunity you don't want to miss. So, get ready to take a leap of faith and enter for your shot at incredible prizes. Who knows, you might just be the next lucky winner! Good luck and may fortune smile upon you!

jesshd 27-10-2023 05:21 PM

Exclusive Limited-Time Deals: Takashimaya Anniversary Bazaar with hddoor

Greetings, shoppers! Are you prepared for an extraordinary array of deals and discounts? Look no further, as the Takashimaya Anniversary Bazaar with hddoor is set to fulfill your shopping fantasies! Get ready for an unparalleled shopping experience with offers that will truly astound you. Whether you're a savvy bargain hunter, a dedicated fashionista, or simply a lover of great deals, this bazaar is the ultimate destination. So, grab your wallets and brace yourself for a remarkable shopping spree

Unregistered 27-10-2023 06:04 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259067)
ya hope all underperformers will ultimately be let go.. whether perm or contract. question is can CE accurately identify these jokers?

the answer is pretty obvious

Unregistered 27-10-2023 07:06 PM

Everyone on contract better hold on tight.
Ur boss is gonna start to whip you into obedience! If you don't behave no renewal for u!

Unregistered 27-10-2023 07:20 PM

Must be lousiest stat board in SG! Terrible managemdnt decision. SHAME ON THIS CE

Unregistered 27-10-2023 09:13 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259067)

U think CE so smart?

Unregistered 27-10-2023 10:33 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259092)
U think CE so smart?

Quite smart what? Have the capacity to hire Indeeds then suddenly announce need to cut down on headcount. I think his goal is to make a history. Leave his name so everyone can remember many years down the road

Unregistered 28-10-2023 12:33 AM

Can someone share whose idea it was to bring in the people from Indeed?

Unregistered 28-10-2023 12:36 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259066)

u rly from gt or not? wei boon is not military lmao

Unregistered 28-10-2023 12:45 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259105)
u rly from gt or not? wei boon is not military lmao

Mindef > csit > govtech. Thats still as good as paratroop to me especially as he spent most of the years in mindef.

Unregistered 28-10-2023 01:10 AM

email

What exactly is the email that was sent out by the CE?

Unregistered 28-10-2023 01:39 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259104)
Can someone share whose idea it was to bring in the people from Indeed?

U didn't read news? Cause tech for public good

Unregistered 28-10-2023 01:40 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259108)
What exactly is the email that was sent out by the CE?

Nabeh u not govtechie is it? Then scram off la walao Haha

Unregistered 28-10-2023 01:41 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259084)
Everyone on contract better hold on tight.
Ur boss is gonna start to whip you into obedience! If you don't behave no renewal for u!

How many folks are under contract anyways. Shouldn't be alot

Unregistered 28-10-2023 01:44 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259086)
Must be lousiest stat board in SG! Terrible managemdnt decision. SHAME ON THIS CE

Really had no other choice. Appear in news and didn't update govtechies

Gave excuse of tech for public good. Kena investigated by mof why hire indeed
The amount to maintain ex indeed is simply too much.

Hence the email that not to renew contract. Its one of the many things that will come

Guaranteed bonus will be affected

Unregistered 28-10-2023 02:54 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259110)
Nabeh u not govtechie is it? Then scram off la walao Haha

Sorry, I'm not aware that only govtechie can participate in the discussion here. But if you are, your language does not reflect very well on govtechie culture. In any case, sorry for intruding.

Unregistered 28-10-2023 09:43 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259112)

Hence the email that not to renew contract. Its one of the many things that will come

The individuals responsible for authorizing this action, which includes the HR, should contemplate stepping down due to their actions.

Unregistered 28-10-2023 10:24 AM

The upcoming Employment Satisfaction Survey is our chance to voice up to the PSD.

Unregistered 28-10-2023 11:05 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259123)
The upcoming Employment Satisfaction Survey is our chance to voice up to the PSD.

U do know psd will ask Govtech ppl to resolve their own issue right? Haha

Unregistered 28-10-2023 11:33 AM

Means this year no corporate bonus ah?

Unregistered 28-10-2023 11:45 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259120)
The individuals responsible for authorizing this action, which includes the HR, should contemplate stepping down due to their actions.

They should, but they won't. First week in the public sector?

Unregistered 28-10-2023 12:35 PM

private sector rules for layoff for working level, public sector rules for no fault for management level

Unregistered 28-10-2023 01:40 PM

come out leadership competency, but SM demonstrated poor leadership, ironic

Unregistered 28-10-2023 02:03 PM

Hahahaha u think HR is the one that calls the shots?

HR is the ka kia that executes management decision. I don't even think the P&OD call the shots

Unregistered 28-10-2023 03:22 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259112)

Won't be surprised if CE is in bed with someone from indeed

Unregistered 28-10-2023 04:18 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259106)
Mindef > csit > govtech. Thats still as good as paratroop to me especially as he spent most of the years in mindef.

then you're definitely not anywhere near public service. military means u wear uniform. u think ps ds dirs all are military too??

Unregistered 28-10-2023 04:22 PM

step down for what? hire indeed people is a logical move. if they suck, they'll be exited anyway. if they are good, then great, you hired someone you couldn't previously. you can even uplift standards and ideas.

people who should be exited should come from non technical. all your engagement, business analysts, product, agile, delivery, etc. waste of resources and don't even have good skills to contribute.

Unregistered 28-10-2023 04:31 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259141)
then you're definitely not anywhere near public service. military means u wear uniform. u think ps ds dirs all are military too??

Hi CE, nice to see you in this thread. The entire 30 - 50 pages of Indeed where there's so much misinformation where you didn't correct, and you chose to correct this "misinformation".

And anyone in public service should know that paratroopers issue has been something that is ongoing all along, but not much they can do.

Unregistered 28-10-2023 04:41 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 259143)
step down for what? hire indeed people is a logical move. if they suck, they'll be exited anyway. if they are good, then great, you hired someone you couldn't previously. you can even uplift standards and ideas.

people who should be exited should come from non technical. all your engagement, business analysts, product, agile, delivery, etc. waste of resources and don't even have good skills to contribute.

So are they on contract? Even if they are, most likely they will only be exited 2 years later, where things stabilize.

And what are they doing currently? Even with the answer on "cross-agency" projects, we have not heard a single sound from them. That doesnt sound too productive use of them anyway. Can just dismantle their division and spread them across govtech? I'm sure the various teams can make better use of them.

Unregistered 28-10-2023 05:42 PM

I was previously from Indeed and was hired by Govtech from the "mass hire", but have recently left Govtech.

Let me give my perspective..

What we are working on?
It's called Career Health project.

What are we doing on a daily basis?
Actually nothing much, just ideation and creating PPT slides and pitch to the higher management that our solutions will address the problem statements.

Do I enjoy working in Govtech?
Hell no. Everyone around you are the "high ranking" ones, and a mere senior SWE will be considered a low rank in the team and they will be slave to do all the work.