Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Compare civil service salary (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/885-compare-civil-service-salary.html)

Unregistered 23-05-2015 01:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 67061)
Nope. CS only hires Singaporeans. IIRC only stat boards are allowed to hire PRs. And virtually zero FTs. Yes, zero.

Stat boards do hire PRs, I think. But stat boards are 'public servants'. Whereas ministries are 'civil servants'. There is a clear line of difference, even if nuanced.

Even so, your statement that 'CS also hire FTs' is clearly false. Civil service does not hire any foreigners.

Nope. Ministries do hire PR. My dept used to have a PR from Indonesia.

And sb do hire foreigners. When i was an intern, my sup was a foreigner (from Indonesia as well) and he used to work for one of the SB.

On the other hand, there are also some SB (or atleast some dept in the SB) which strictly do not hire foreigners or PRs.

Unregistered 23-05-2015 02:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 67062)
If you consider the fact that local universities take in roughly the top 25% of the academic cohort. And the ones that can succeed in private sector are the top quartile as you've said. It means that most local uni grads can actually succeed well in the private sector.

That's why I said, from my perspective, as a local uni grad, that CS is a dumping ground. Because only the bottom quartile of the graduates(not only in terms of academics, but also work ethic, drive etc.) will want to end up there.

"A degree-holding civil servant's income is typically slightly above the median gross salary of deg-holders across all age groups as reported in 'Labor Force in Singapore, 2013'."

I hope it is easier for you to read now.

SELXM 23-05-2015 09:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 67062)