Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Civil/Public Sector - Ministry/Stat Boards employees knowledge needed! (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/4955-civil-public-sector-ministry-stat-boards-employees-knowledge-needed.html)

Unregistered 03-10-2015 03:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 73360)
Hey thanks for all your replies. I'm the original poster.

So, its safe to conclude that I should expect at least a 4k? And thus, if by some miracle they offer 4.5k I should just take it already right? Don't want to be too greedy.

The reason is because of the job title: "Senior executive". I got offered (Yes, they emailed me saying they would send an official offer next week) for it even though I'm a fresh grad, albeit a FCH one.
I would expect the "senior" description to give a better pay, hence my expected 4k. Not sure if the "senior" justifies a higher pay, or it's just a title with no implications.

Would really appreciate feedback on this aspect. Thanks again

Doesn't work that way. All fresh grad within the same agency will start with the same grade. The pay varies depending on the agency and qualification, meaning, all fch within a ministry/sb will get the same pay regardless of what your title is. Some ministries such as MTI call their fresh grad assistant director. Sounds atas, but they are earning around the same as any fresh grad from other ministries with a less atas title.

Also, there is no room for negotiation. You either take the offer or don't.

And engineers are usually paid higher than the normal folks. So don't expect to get paid better than an engineer unless you belong to some other professional schemes.

Unregistered 03-10-2015 02:05 PM

Hi,

If I'm a FCH student from one of the local U's Accountancy course and I join a stat board, how much should I expect and which stat board would pay the highest?