Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Career as Teacher (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1758-career-teacher.html)

Unregistered 10-04-2023 06:30 PM

Hello appreciate advice here

2014 - GEO 3
2018 - GEO 4
2022 - GEO 5

Should I change school for leadership opportunities? Despite being GEO 5 for a year and expressing desire to take on leadership roles, my RO hasn't provided any concrete suggestions on how this is possible for me.

But I'm also concerned that such opportunities may mean going down to pri school. Don't think I'm cut out to teach pri sch.

Unregistered 10-04-2023 06:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 245883)
But I'm also concerned that such opportunities may mean going down to pri school. Don't think I'm cut out to teach pri sch.

Excuse the slightly below-belt expression, but this is a very "low CEP" thing to say. I mean, as a Sec trained teacher myself, I completely understand what you mean. It's a different ball game. But this is not the kind of perspective that MOE values.

Even for Hi-Po officers, MOE grooms them with a focus on having the mindset and attitude to take on challenges presented by organisational needs. An FLP officer, for instance, who closes his mind completely to the idea of cross-deployment or joining a higher needs school under Enhanced Posting Support is going to ruffle some feathers.

I'm a HOT so idgaf. But if you want opportunities you have to show that you are open to meeting the org needs as well.

Unregistered 10-04-2023 08:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 245883)
Hello appreciate advice here

2014 - GEO 3
2018 - GEO 4
2022 - GEO 5

Should I change school for leadership opportunities? Despite being GEO 5 for a year and expressing desire to take on leadership roles, my RO hasn't provided any concrete suggestions on how this is possible for me.