-   -   Career as Teacher (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1758-career-teacher.html)

Unregistered 24-03-2023 06:02 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 243623)
psc scholar. int hod now. entered as geo4 (promoted in 2021) SH in 2022, promoted to geo 5 in 2022, now seo1 (2023). Mad huh

Have a feeling it's my batchmate.

Your school is in the far west?

While the disparity between scholar and farmer is quite shocking, the person I have in mind seems to deserve it la.

Unregistered 24-03-2023 06:03 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 243624)
Grade B n promoted to GEO 5...what would the increment be like?

Can share what’s your progression like?

Onto my 6th year as GEO4. Mostly C+, only recent year B - not promoted.

Unregistered 24-03-2023 06:34 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 243618)
Wow how did u get A/B almost yearly in geo5?
Any tips!

Work at SEO level.

Hold a KP appointment and meet/exceed the expectations of that appointment. Then you will get consistent solid grades at GEO4 or GEO5, even if HR doesn't wanna promote you.

Unregistered 24-03-2023 06:54 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 243629)
Can share what’s your progression like?

Onto my 6th year as GEO4. Mostly C+, only recent year B - not promoted.

Mine is in between 6th and 7th year. Mostly Cs too. You will probably get yours next year?

Unregistered 24-03-2023 06:54 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 243628)

While the disparity between scholar and farmer is quite shocking, the person I have in mind seems to deserve it la.

indeed. Um, if being super vocal about everything and posting on social media about teaching at every opportunity is all it takes, surely more deserving people like those long suffering geo5s who are actually appointed as HODs deserve their seo1 more? how can u just be promoted 3 grades in 3 years? envious? yes, but talk about demotivation.

Unregistered 24-03-2023 07:01 PM

Really sian lah. 3 years in GEO5 and as a HOD.
No promotion and just kena suck dry by MOE to do work at two subgrades above, at lower pay.

Unregistered 24-03-2023 07:06 PM

mad?

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 243628)

no it’s not mad. psc is high category of scholarship , they are nit given scholarship to be teacher la. it’s just a rite of passage to understand system. they will not even be P for long ; maybe one short term thats it. current dge was P at 33.

Unregistered 24-03-2023 07:07 PM

sian

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 243640)
No promotion and just kena suck dry by MOE to do work at two subgrades above, at lower pay.

quality of work not good la. u don’t show sufficient intellectual capabilities maybe.

Unregistered 24-03-2023 07:20 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 243639)
indeed. Um, if being super vocal about everything and posting on social media about teaching at every opportunity is all it takes, surely more deserving people like those long suffering geo5s who are actually appointed as HODs deserve their seo1 more? how can u just be promoted 3 grades in 3 years? envious? yes, but talk about demotivation.

Yeah. It's ridiculous that confirmed management appointees are held back at non-management subgrades for years and years and "pacified" with a pathetic responsibility allowance.

Unregistered 24-03-2023 07:22 PM

sucked dry

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 243640)

are u in a primary school?