Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Really that bad for engineers? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/866-really-bad-engineers.html)

Unregistered 02-01-2012 02:53 AM

I am an NUS engineering graduate of class 2004. Back then alot of my classmates are from the top 5 JC. The cut off point for NUS engin back (year 2000) then was 2 A and 1 B. I am now pretty surprised that only students with the worst grades enter engin. I guess times have changed and Engineering has become the new dumping ground.

Unregistered 02-01-2012 04:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 19285)
I am an NUS engineering graduate of class 2004. Back then alot of my classmates are from the top 5 JC. The cut off point for NUS engin back (year 2000) then was 2 A and 1 B. I am now pretty surprised that only students with the worst grades enter engin. I guess times have changed and Engineering has become the new dumping ground.

"New dumping ground"? It's been THE dumping ground for ages.

Unregistered 02-01-2012 01:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 15262)

An engineering graduate finding an engineering job is almost a certainty whereas a finance graduate finding a finance job (particularly one in front office) is not.

The battlefield is littered with bodies of finance graduates languishing in front desk (not front office) receptionist/ telemarketer-type dead end jobs.

Unlike the myriad engineers here who can like claim "if I had studied finance ...", these unfortunate finance grads can't do the same.

huh ? I always thougt that guy in the front desk is engineer grad.

Unregistered 02-01-2012 03:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 19291)
huh ? I always thougt that guy in the front desk is engineer grad.

yeah, front desk recept, cab drivers, security guards are all engineering grads.

Unregistered 03-01-2012 01:50 AM