-   -   Anyone jobless for a long time before? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/2271-anyone-jobless-long-time-before.html)

Unregistered 19-11-2012 08:11 PM

ahhaah true, the poorer folks have what is called the 'Ah Q' mentality, with spiritual victories to justify their lack of work ethic and ambition (with rationale of 'work life balance', better health, being more zen buddhist, not money minded etc) lol

Unregistered 19-11-2012 08:51 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 30638)
All this talk about rich people feel very sian, hard to work with office politics or trapped by money nonsense is just something touted by poor under-achievers to convince themselves and others in the same boat why life "sux" being rich and high up in senior management. This has the effect of making them feel less paifuln about their lack of material possession and lifestyle while giving the impression they could have achieved much more, but "conciously" choose to downgrade themselves.

Fastest way to smoke this kind of people out is to ask them if given a choice will they choose:

a) being trapped by money, sian driving a car, show off to save face and playing office politics with lots of money

b) poor in rat race, with lost of "work life balance" and spiritual well-being

Suddenly 95% of the people dont mind being "trapped" after all.

"People with advantages are loath to believe that they just happen to be people with advantages. They come readily to define themselves as inherently worthy of what they possess; they come to believe themselves 'naturally' elite" - C Wright Mills

Unregistered 19-11-2012 09:11 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 30640)
"People with advantages are loath to believe that they just happen to be people with advantages. They come readily to define themselves as inherently worthy of what they possess; they come to believe themselves 'naturally' elite" - C Wright Mills

"People who under achieve are loath to believe that they just happen to be people who are unlucky. They come readily to define themselves as inherently set for far greater things than their character command; they come to believe themselves to be the elite if only lady luck was on their side" - Unregistered @ Salary.sg

Unregistered 19-11-2012 11:23 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 30641)
"People who under achieve are loath to believe that they just happen to be people who are unlucky. They come readily to define themselves as inherently set for far greater things than their character command; they come to believe themselves to be the elite if only lady luck was on their side" - Unregistered @ Salary.sg

Mimicry is the highest form of flattery, sarcasm is the lowest form of wit. Pick your poison.
Your line by line translation makes no sense either, your first sentence and middle sentence contradict.

Ter 20-11-2012 12:34 AM

Hi are you or your friends looking for a change of environment, a better career opportunities
We are international base sale and marketing solution company helping established clients to increase their market shares. We are have vacancy for sales executive and also looking for 3 sales management trainees who will be developed from basic sales and marketing to team management and eventually campaign management.
We welcome entry level candidates who are driven, dynamic with great attitude*
18 and above
Remuneration*
Sale executive $2k-$4k*
Team manager $4k-$5k
If you think yourselves or your friends suits the role, please pm me
Thanks

Unregistered 20-11-2012 08:25 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 30526)
oh, sorry i forgot to introduce myself. i am 24 this year still studying. he is 40+. if you wanna compare, at least know how to compare apple to apple, not durian to watermelon.

Exactly. You still do not know what a paycheck means to someone who has a family. So don't be too quick to judge. When you reach that stage in life, you might be feeling the same.

Unregistered 20-11-2012 09:43 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 30650)
Mimicry is the highest form of flattery, sarcasm is the lowest form of wit. Pick your poison.
Your line by line translation makes no sense either, your first sentence and middle sentence contradict.

Throwing up random quotes is the lamest form of faux intelligencia. Of all people you quote a committed marxist communist and good friend of the brutal Soviet Union regime.

To put it plainly in Singlish, cannot make it in life don't sour grapes and act atas by talking cheem.

Unregistered 20-11-2012 11:05 AM

All of you shut up lah.. Why so many lame comments? Argue here argue there go kopi tiam argue lah..
Don't kp kb here. English so good go apply to be literature lecturer at nus. Don't lecture us folks here.

Unregistered 20-11-2012 11:10 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 30664)
All of you shut up lah.. Why so many lame comments? Argue here argue there go kopi tiam argue lah..
Don't kp kb here. English so good go apply to be literature lecturer at nus. Don't lecture us folks here.

Go 1 corner and cry lah boy boy.

Unregistered 20-11-2012 11:44 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 30662)
Throwing up random quotes is the lamest form of faux intelligencia. Of all people you quote a committed marxist communist and good friend of the brutal Soviet Union regime.

To put it plainly in Singlish, cannot make it in life don't sour grapes and act atas by talking cheem.

Ah yes. The act smart argument, I cannot reply further because any attempt to do so would be construed as acting smart.