-   -   pay for gov/public sector vs mnc vs sme (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/2224-pay-gov-public-sector-vs-mnc-vs-sme.html)

bladez87 18-10-2012 11:06 AM

Woah guys, chill. Try not to turn this thread into a flame war.
Thanks

Unregistered 18-10-2012 01:34 PM

Originally Posted by bladez87 (Post 29209)
Woah guys, chill. Try not to turn this thread into a flame war.
Thanks

good to have some information debate around, better than all those useless one-liners...

Unregistered 18-10-2012 01:49 PM

Originally Posted by bladez87 (Post 29204)
I am curious. If you are in accounts dept, how do you widen the network of contacts in your industry if stuck in a desk bound job?

Accounts no need network, most important is to get your ACCA / CPA & min 2 years exp in a big 4 co.

foxconned 18-10-2012 03:37 PM

With the bad economy situation coming up, I am also going for CS after graduation next year, can always jump back to private once the economy is good.

Unregistered 18-10-2012 07:58 PM

Originally Posted by bladez87 (Post 29181)
and what is your profession?

SE in IT industry

Unregistered 18-10-2012 11:17 PM

pay is depend on yourself, cannot generalise public sector mnc and sme.

Unregistered 19-10-2012 09:19 AM

Mnc > cs > sb > sme

poor and stupid 19-10-2012 01:24 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 29237)
Mnc > cs > sb > sme

Yup! 1 line sums it up.

If Mnc mistreat you, you kpkb gahmen come kapo, everything explode.

If Cs mistreat you, everyone sua siao.

If "uncle-alibaba-and-john-sam enterprise&co" bully you, nothing will happen, you alone cant make enough noise for anything to happen also. And if anything happens they always have "samba-uncle-and-john-baba llp", repeat this forever for ultra low wages and maximum profit!

Unregistered 19-10-2012 02:45 PM

Originally Posted by bladez87 (Post 29117)
All this time I thought private companies are offering higher pay compared to gov/public sector, however after working in a SME for 3 years and asking around, I begin to wonder how true that is.

Can anyone shed some light? After 3 years in my job, my pay is still lower than some uniformed group starting pay. If gov sector can provide 10% increment every year, it will still outgrow being in a private sector unless one can climb very fast.

Am I right?

You compare small local businessman/family shop pay with the gov/public sector that recieve hundred billion tax revenue yearly? Wake up please...

Unregistered 19-10-2012 02:47 PM

Originally Posted by poor and stupid (Post 29244)
Yup! 1 line sums it up.

If Mnc mistreat you, you kpkb gahmen come kapo, everything explode.

If Cs mistreat you, everyone sua siao.

If "uncle-alibaba-and-john-sam enterprise&co" bully you, nothing will happen, you alone cant make enough noise for anything to happen also. And if anything happens they always have "samba-uncle-and-john-baba llp", repeat this forever for ultra low wages and maximum profit!

Agree, thats why very surprise the TS work 3 years already still so naive & think SME pay higher than CS.