Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Career as Teacher (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1758-career-teacher.html)

Unregistered 26-06-2023 10:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 250560)
Salaries taken from smartwealth.sg.

Median salary by Age range - for a male in their 30s, median salary including employer contribution is between $ 5850 - 7020. Most teachers in that age range would comfortably fit within that range. Iofcourse, this does not differentiate by education.

Now if we look at a breakdown by profession, the same website puts median professional salary
as $7722. Now this would definitely be skewed by professionals in their 40s and 50s who skew the Median upwards.

So, looking at those 2 numbers, in what world can we say that a teacher in their 30s is earning below median income? I've brought some stats to make my case. For those who insist that teachers are underpaid, what do you have other than 'trust me bro'

[s://cdn-blog.seedly.sg/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/10140442/Median-Monthly-Income-By-Occupation-in-Singapore_-Here-is-What-People-in-These-Roles-Are-Earning-1-1024x538.png[/

Unregistered 26-06-2023 11:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 250636)
Year 3 GEO3 here. Clicked apply for SH and HOD roles in workpal just to test the system. For SH/ST roles, the error message was “subgrade does not meet minimum requirements” while for HOD, it is simply “you do not meet the minimum criteria for this position.” Based on this, I can assume my CEP is probably SEO1. Can use this to check your CEP

Smart. You know the system. Usually, it’s really difficult to have CEP of SEO2 and above until you are given some role. Or unless you are a high flyer scholar.

Unregistered 27-06-2023 12:53 AM

Fajt

Hello,

I am thinking about converting to an FAJT from full time MOE teacher but have questions I hope some can help out with.