Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - How much are you earning per annum?
View Single Post
Old 01-01-2013, 11:45 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Happy New Year 2013 to all posters!

I am a relatively new resident in a condo in the east (this is only my 3rd year there). During my occasional after-dinner evening walk around the compound, I would see an elderly couple taking their evening stroll. They are casually dressed but not sloppy. They have that serene and contented look, like without a care in the world. Never really talked to them beyond the typical neighborly smile when our paths crossed, until last Sunday. It began with their asking me if I just moved in. Let me called them Mr and Mrs A.

They are both 65, Mrs A retired 2 years before Mr A who retired at age 62. The topic of our talk somehow shifted to money when they asked what line I was in, and I jokingly complained I probably could not retire before 65 with the loans to pay off and the high inflation. Mr A worked in the Civil Service while Mrs A worked in a Stat board. Both got to super scale or equivalent grade when they were 45 yrs old. I asked them how come they weren't staying in a landed property as obviously they could more than afford it. Mr A said they missed the boat but they did not regret staying in condos either.