Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   DBS Bank career advancement, starting from entry (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/2197-dbs-bank-career-advancement-starting-entry.html)

Unregistered 03-10-2012 12:09 PM

Wtf

Quote:

Originally Posted by stockwiz (Post 28693)
Hi, I am thinking of joining DBS as a retail banking RM first then hopefully in few years time can move on to investment banking or treasury / trading side.

Anyone with experience to share on how to transfer once inside? What is the starting pay like for retail banking RM? I have a degree in statistics from NUS, 2nd lower and have a lot of passion and expert in stock trading (have been making average 5% every month since start of this year).

You can tan gu gu ah.
If you really zai in stock trading go apply to be Dealer lah.

Unregistered 03-10-2012 01:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stockwiz (Post 28693)
Hi, I am thinking of joining DBS as a retail banking RM first then hopefully in few years time can move on to investment banking or treasury / trading side.

Anyone with experience to share on how to transfer once inside? What is the starting pay like for retail banking RM? I have a degree in statistics from NUS, 2nd lower and have a lot of passion and expert in stock trading (have been making average 5% every month since start of this year).

5% pm is 80% pa. If you are making this kind of money you wouldn't want to be a Cecilia Sue doing sales and asking stupid questions like how to move from RM to iB.

Unregistered 03-10-2012 02:31 PM

Lol.

But his question is also somewhat related to what I wanted to know. Which areas of bank will get you better chances to move to iB, such as institutional banking, consumer banking and risk management? And how many years of exp?

stockwhiz 03-10-2012 03:36 PM