Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Any Kaplan students here can land a job in 2020? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/12847-any-kaplan-students-here-can-land-job-2020-a.html)

Unregistered 02-07-2020 11:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 140623)
my department in one of the big 4, actually the admin block ppl from kplan....

Big 4 generally has never favoured fresh graduate from private uni anyway. Hence why you either make it or you don't.

Thangtvn96 02-07-2020 11:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 140649)
I graduated in 2018 with a comp science and cyber security double major degree from murdoch uni, landed a job 1 month after graduation. starting pay was 3.8k in a GLC, now $39xx, this year no increment due to covid, planning to jump next year or so to learn a different specialization, kaplan people, don't give up!

Wow, that's inspiring! Thank you so much :)

Unregistered 03-07-2020 02:21 AM

Rule of a thumb.

If a job requires you to go through a psychometric test or assessment first, you’ll have a higher chance to land an interview. So practice hard with the free testing resources available online (like SHL) and ace it to get a callback! I am currently midway through a graduate scheme with a FMCG firm and I am blessed to be on the same pay grade as my local uni colleagues.

Otherwise, aside from those speciaized programmes like IT or nursing, sad to say that all distance-learning degrees will always be at the lowest of the pecking order. Especially with the pandemic, local grads will always be higher on the priority list to hire. Manage your expectations and all the best!

Thangtvn96 03-07-2020 09:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 140682)
Rule of a thumb.