Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Should I move on?
View Single Post
Old 02-03-2016, 11:44 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by remymartinVSOP View Post
Hi all,

Here to seek a bit of career advice.

I graduated from NUS with 2nd upper last year. Been working in a local firm for about 9 months now and I have a skill set that is quite well sought after. So far my job has been really challenging; I have learnt a lot of hard and soft skills; my colleagues and boss are really encouraging and supportive; working hours are good and pro-family (9-6).

My only qualm is that there might not be a lot of monetary incentive on the horizon (next 1-2 years). From what I have heard, the yearly increment is a percentage of 1-3%. My starting pay is only $3000 which is considered low when I look at my peers.

I'm wondering if I should consider moving on elsewhere that would pay me a decent pay or just stay put because it is a good environment? Or is it too early for me to do this (I do not want to be labelled as a job hopper)?

Thanks in advance!
If you are working in manufacturing sector, don't compare with someone working shift or other industry. My starting pay 8years back was 2850, a very well known Japanese MNC.
4 years down the road 3800 (a $500 pay cut from being promoted to management working office hours) That is with constant promotion, KPI maxed, basically I am their pet.

Eventually I quitted my job to become a private tutor because of stress. My stress level is when automatically I wake up at 1am, 3am to check any urgent update from manufacturing site even though I no longer work there. More commitment, more promotion = more stress.
Teaching was interesting, I ever considered enrolling for NIE but I could not. Family is heavy debt from medical bill, housing loan etc... I never seen my dad work since the day I am born. Now he is 85, 0 CPF, 0 savings. My mum is from kampong, no need describe more.