Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - SIM-UOL fresh grad starting pay
View Single Post
Old 23-05-2013, 10:50 PM
Unregistered

Default also onoveC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Not true with the extra credentials. It doesn't work as well as people think. Boils down to luck too.

I'm a UOL grad, passed my CFA level 1 during my student days, ranked in the top few percentile globally during my first attempt at Bloomberg Assessment test and I'm a Captain in a sports CCA in school, having won medals for school yearly. I've been sending out resume since yr 1 for internship, and have sent out in total 400+ resume since... Response rate... Abt 0.1%? And all are rejections. I asked many people to look through my resume and cover letter and the way i send my application for mistakes, everything seems fine. I even got one UOB HR lady to look through, she thought it was good, and even spend 30 minutes helping me edit my resume to find grammatical errors. but when I send my resume to them, not even an interview for internship in Ops. My friends still find it puzzling, I'm a super odd case.

I do read very widely, during my free time. I research extensively in the industry of my dreams.. hahaha.. I keep up to date with news and daily stats, spending extra money for WSJ, economist and FT sub (Which I read religiously, but ran out of cash for economist sub renewal). But most importantly if no one wants to give you even an interview, all that extra edge you build is nothing but personal interest and empty dreams.