-   -   Realistic Starting Pay for fresh grads 2016? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/7147-realistic-starting-pay-fresh-grads-2016-a.html)

brownie 22-04-2016 10:04 PM

Realistic Starting Pay for fresh grads 2016?

Since the job market is extremely bad this year, what is a realistic starting pay for fresh grad?

I'm a 2:1 with a bach of arts, what expected salary range should I be looking at? Currently offered a job which requires me to work on both weekends (still 5 day week) but I'm not sure if the pay is considered average or below average :confused:

Feel free to share the range for other majors :)

Unregistered 22-04-2016 10:11 PM

Originally Posted by brownie (Post 84201)
Since the job market is extremely bad this year, what is a realistic starting pay for fresh grad?

I'm a 2:1 with a bach of arts, what expected salary range should I be looking at? Currently offered a job which requires me to work on both weekends (still 5 day week) but I'm not sure if the pay is considered average or below average :confused:

Look at civil service pay scale for a guide. I think second upper should be around 3.4-4.2k.

noobieguy 22-04-2016 11:04 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84202)
Look at civil service pay scale for a guide. I think second upper should be around 3.4-4.2k.

private sector dont look at honors.

dont give ppl high hope

Unregistered 22-04-2016 11:09 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84202)

Pte sector is struggling to keep up with CS pay. Fresh grads expectations nowadays of $4.2k is what someone with 5 years experience in pte sector is earning... just join the CS if you can.

Unregistered 22-04-2016 11:22 PM

I feel like private sector is definitely <3k for fresh grads with no working experience. Private seems to focus more on experience, while govt on honours/education etc.

Unregistered 22-04-2016 11:25 PM

most fresh grad probably earn ard 3 to 3.8k.

of cos, there will still be a significant number who earn below or above this range.

Wing Chun 23-04-2016 12:42 AM

Salary shouldn't be the concern, getting a job is. Fresh grad have zero exp, so don't expect much. The remuneration will commensurate with the exp after u have them.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 09:14 AM

I will never join CS. Even working as a cab driver is better.
Reason being:
1) it's a brain dead industry that does not encourage creativity.
2) Very few private sector company wants to hire ex-CS staff.
3) It serve as a retirement house for the laidback people, don't expect to meet future millionaires in CS.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 11:07 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84235)
Reason being:
3) It serve as a retirement house for the laidback people, don't expect to meet future millionaires in CS.

True, but we must also look at the big picture and compare average, not just look at extremes like millionaire/billionaire etc.

1) Current CS starting for good deg is about 4k+. Pte sector unless mgt program usually start at 3k.

2) CS goes on 16-18 months total package a year and very stable every year unless major economic crisis. Private sector other than banks typical annual package around 15 months. It can easily drop to 12-13 months when company not doing well.

3) CS more or less guaranteed will reach at least AD or DD by 50 years old with many good performers easily exceeding 300k p.a. Private likely you get retrenched, cannot find job and end up drive taxi (if lucky).

Of course you can argue private sector has potential to pay few million every year if you are good, can be tycoon CEO if you start business etc., but big picture is those with good degrees join CS generally do much better than private sector.

Sam Adams 23-04-2016 11:13 AM

Reason being:

All three apply to cab drivers too, probably to a larger extent, so logic clearly isn't your strong suit.

Sam Adams 23-04-2016 11:13 AM

Why don't you state what your offer is also

Unregistered 23-04-2016 11:35 AM

Originally Posted by Sam Adams (Post 84243)
All three apply to cab drivers too, probably to a larger extent, so logic clearly isn't your strong suit.

Cab drivers need to plan routes and know which timing go which location to pick up what kind of passenger. At least you still can exercise your brain.
Being a puppet in CS doing repetitive task doesn't require much brain.
But like what the previous poster mentioned, if you are looking at the high initial pay and not a competitive person, CS is the way to go.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 12:19 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84245)
Cab drivers need to plan routes and know which timing go which location to pick up what kind of passenger. At least you still can exercise your brain.
Being a puppet in CS doing repetitive task doesn't require much brain.
But like what the previous poster mentioned, if you are looking at the high initial pay and not a competitive person, CS is the way to go.

dun drama big cannon lah. taxi driver say until like dam high level competitive intellectual job.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 01:05 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84219)
$4.2k is what someone with 5 years experience in pte sector is earning...

this is true.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 01:06 PM

this is true too.

brownie 23-04-2016 01:07 PM

Originally Posted by Sam Adams (Post 84244)
Why don't you state what your offer is also

I got offered 2.6-2.7k but was told there won't be wage adjustment even after training and will only receive a performance review a year later. I'm guessing that isn't very favourable..?

Sadly, for pte sector, it seems like there's a higher demand for engineers/it. In hindsight, I don't think there's much options available for humanities.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 01:48 PM

Originally Posted by brownie (Post 84254)
I got offered 2.6-2.7k but was told there won't be wage adjustment even after training and will only receive a performance review a year later. I'm guessing that isn't very favourable..?

Sadly, for pte sector, it seems like there's a higher demand for engineers/it. In hindsight, I don't think there's much options available for humanities.

Fresh grad from sum here. Got 3 offers around 3.3-3.8k

Unregistered 23-04-2016 01:51 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84257)
Fresh grad from sum here. Got 3 offers around 3.3-3.8k

Which industry and what degree?

Unregistered 23-04-2016 01:54 PM

I got offered 2.6-2.7k but was told there won't be wage adjustment

I started at 2.3 but that was 8 years ago.
Social science grad, in digital marketing.
Seems like things hasnt changed much since then.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 01:54 PM

I was a high flying corporate executive. Earned a lot.
I retired at 45. I'm a millionaire.
Just sharing.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 02:37 PM

Reason being:

Lol. U sound like someone who can't get into cs

Unregistered 23-04-2016 03:11 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84261)
Lol. U sound like someone who can't get into cs

Let's just say I am a firm believer of market forces and working hard.
CS is a jiak Liao bee industry meant for slackers.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 04:04 PM

I'm one batch before you. Worked for one year already. Starting pay was around 5k. Now getting 6k. In banking. But job market sucks now. Headcount freeze everywhere. If u have job offer just accept it for now.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 04:10 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84271)
I'm one batch before you. Worked for one year already. Starting pay was around 5k. Now getting 6k. In banking. But job market sucks now. Headcount freeze everywhere. If u have job offer just accept it for now.

Banking salaries are not a good gauage for the general market.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 05:16 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84258)
Which industry and what degree?

Commodities and shipping.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 05:20 PM

Apply banking ops job. Starting pay 3.6-4.5k.

Unregistered 23-04-2016 06:31 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84260)
Just sharing.

Instead of sharing useless, unverifiable claims, how about you put your money where your mouth is, by sharing some of your money with the rest of us?

Come lah. Dun be selfish ley. Share some of your money with us!

Unregistered 23-04-2016 06:44 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84260)
Just sharing.

thanks for your valuable contribution to this topic!

Unregistered 23-04-2016 07:21 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84283)
Instead of sharing useless, unverifiable claims, how about you put your money where your mouth is, by sharing some of your money with the rest of us?

Come lah. Dun be selfish ley. Share some of your money with us!

Just ignore him la. Obviously a troll. To TS. Why don't u consider civil service. Higher starting pay plus stable bonuses of 3-5 months every year. Second upper honours should get u 3.6-4.2k starting salary!! Stay for a few years then see how it goes.

brownie 23-04-2016 07:40 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84279)
Apply banking ops job. Starting pay 3.6-4.5k.

No harm trying, thanks a lot :)

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84287)
Just ignore him la. Obviously a troll. To TS. Why don't u consider civil service. Higher starting pay plus stable bonuses of 3-5 months every year. Second upper honours should get u 3.6-4.2k starting salary!! Stay for a few years then see how it goes.

Yeah, I've applied to several CS jobs but their application process is usually quite lengthy. Guess I'll just wait and see how it goes while applying for other jobs.

Thanks guys for all the input!

Unregistered 23-04-2016 11:58 PM

Go for the banks if possible. Most are offering 4.3-5k starting salary.

Unregistered 24-04-2016 12:00 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84287)

have friends in the cs/public service...only those in the more prominent/high-flying agencies (MTI, MAS, EDB, MFA) or professional schemes enjoy the aforementioned starting pay range. most (with good hons) would fall around the 3k range and upwards, with an added 200 or so for those with NS. of course this depends on which agency you join. the economic agencies tend to pay better for obvious reasons.

the government sector offers a good range of experiences as well, especially if you are interested in taking a holistic view of different issues. the private sector has its challenges, but it isn't fair to put down the public sector--in fact if anything, the public servant's scope is becoming increasingly daunting. sure, you won't become a multi-millionaire, but you'll lead a pretty comfortable life.

a bit wordy but hope this helps for fresh grads out there who are wondering which path to take.

Unregistered 24-04-2016 12:07 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84311)
have friends in the cs/public service...only those in the more prominent/high-flying agencies (MTI, MAS, EDB, MFA) or professional schemes enjoy the aforementioned starting pay range. most (with good hons) would fall around the 3k range and upwards, with an added 200 or so for those with NS. of course this depends on which agency you join. the economic agencies tend to pay better for obvious reasons.

the government sector offers a good range of experiences as well, especially if you are interested in taking a holistic view of different issues. the private sector has its challenges, but it isn't fair to put down the public sector--in fact if anything, the public servant's scope is becoming increasingly daunting. sure, you won't become a multi-millionaire, but you'll lead a pretty comfortable life.

a bit wordy but hope this helps for fresh grads out there who are wondering which path to take.

I dont know why everyone keeps thinking private sector pays better than civil service. A civil servant degree holder as long as no cock up no matter what can be AD/SAD iron rice bowl till retirement. If you include the almost guaranteed bonus, its anywhere 120-180k a year.

Some big cannon fairies like to talk big about bankers making 500k above and how civil service pay beneath them, but most likely you will just be a average 80-100k 40 yo middle manager fearing retrenchment every day.

brownie 24-04-2016 12:34 AM

That was very insightful :) Thank you for taking the time in typing this out!

Tbh I'm just looking for a stable job which would still have decent work progression every 1 - 2 years cause of inflation (I'm not thinking of being a high flyer or anything). Would wait patiently for cs to get back to me!

Unregistered 24-04-2016 02:06 AM

I disagree with the figures u stated in ur first para. most civil servants are under mx scheme. And all within the scheme are paid more or less the same. If u have good hons (second upper or above), u will most like get atleast 3300. for those with ns, they get an additional 200-300.
for example, moh second upper no ns = 3297. second upper with ns = 3597.

Unregistered 24-04-2016 03:21 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84323)
I disagree with the figures u stated in ur first para. most civil servants are under mx scheme. And all within the scheme are paid more or less the same. If u have good hons (second upper or above), u will most like get atleast 3300. for those with ns, they get an additional 200-300.
for example, moh second upper no ns = 3297. second upper with ns = 3597.

oh thanks for the correction! looks like starting salaries are getting better, good to see that definitely.

Unregistered 24-04-2016 03:27 AM

Originally Posted by brownie (Post 84320)
That was very insightful :) Thank you for taking the time in typing this out!

Tbh I'm just looking for a stable job which would still have decent work progression every 1 - 2 years cause of inflation (I'm not thinking of being a high flyer or anything). Would wait patiently for cs to get back to me!

you're welcome--wishing you good luck!

Unregistered 24-04-2016 11:09 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84313)
I dont know why everyone keeps thinking private sector pays better than civil service. A civil servant degree holder as long as no cock up no matter what can be AD/SAD iron rice bowl till retirement. If you include the almost guaranteed bonus, its anywhere 120-180k a year.

Some big cannon fairies like to talk big about bankers making 500k above and how civil service pay beneath them, but most likely you will just be a average 80-100k 40 yo middle manager fearing retrenchment every day.

Because most people when young like to think they are top calibre, but by definition top calibre are only minority.

The really smart people are those that are realistic, know they are only mediocre in capability and wisely chose government jobs right after school thereby securing long term future.

The worst are the so so people who fantasize about being some hot shot banker or VP end up getting stuck at some junior management level in private companies always fearing replacement by FT.

Unregistered 24-04-2016 11:52 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 84334)
Because most people when young like to think they are top calibre, but by definition top calibre are only minority.

The really smart people are those that are realistic, know they are only mediocre in capability and wisely chose government jobs right after school thereby securing long term future.

The worst are the so so people who fantasize about being some hot shot banker or VP end up getting stuck at some junior management level in private companies always fearing replacement by FT.

Lol, I think you must either be from CS or a poor performer in university. I have not seen any real high flier choose CS willingly. Zero.

Unregistered 24-04-2016 12:12 PM

Civil service

Hi, I'm a FCH female from a local university accountancy course. I wanted to head into civil service because I don't see myself striving to be a vp/partner in a company. I just want to be able to earn a stable income for my future as I'm saving to get married. Is it wrong to not strive for more?

In any case, my family wishes for me to try private sector and I've already accepted an offer in a firm in the private sector (pay's lower than civil service, I'm not aiming for banking.) If i wish to jump to civil service in 3-4 years time, will I lose out as compared to fresh graduates wanting to join civil service?