Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   NTU Computer Science Fresh Grad looking for advice (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/6822-nanyang-technological-university-computer-science-fresh-grad-looking-advice.html)

rorror 08-03-2016 10:41 PM

NTU Computer Science Fresh Grad looking for advice

I will be a fresh grad this year. I am a Computer Science student from NTU, with a borderline Second Upper Honours (4.0X).

I have a job offer for a software development position at a private company. The monthly salary offered is around 3.3K. What I would like to know is, should I expect 3.5K for a Second Upper or is my GPA too close to the borderline to be considered a Second Upper?

Unregistered 08-03-2016 11:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rorror (Post 80988)
I will be a fresh grad this year. I am a Computer Science student from NTU, with a borderline Second Upper Honours (4.0X).

I have a job offer for a software development position at a private company. The monthly salary offered is around 3.3K. What I would like to know is, should I expect 3.5K for a Second Upper or is my GPA too close to the borderline to be considered a Second Upper?

what are u basing ur expectation on? ur second upper? nobody in the private sector cares about ur class of hons. u r paid what the company think you r worth?

is 3.3k the best job offer out there? definitely not.
is the amount reasonable? arguably yes.
can u get an offer with higher pay? only u know ur own capability well enough to ans this question.

Unregistered 08-03-2016 11:24 PM

Apply for civil service or stat boards. They less likely to underpay you and will take your 2nd upper into consideration.

Unregistered 10-03-2016 12:50 PM

Quote:

Mean pay for CS students from NTU is $3,489. Show them the 2015 employment survey and ask them to pay you at least that amount.

Unregistered 18-03-2016 09:43 AM

hard find job now sial