Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Property Agents make A LOT of Money (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/642-property-agents-make-lot-money.html)

Steven--- 02-05-2008 02:42 PM

some earn more some earn less. but its really very tough market. I should know cause i'm an agent.

Realtor--- 02-05-2008 02:50 PM

Well, amist all the comments.. I find that most people still think that property agents earns good money based on simple work.

It is only when you are in the field itself than you would truely understand how it is really like.
For those who think it is easy, why not try giving up stability in your fixed pay job and give it a try for 1 year. you will understand what it feels like then (As a agent yourself).

People alway comment on things based on a empty head. If it is so easy a job / career, Nobody would be working for a lowly paid job anymore.
Have anyone really think of what the job is truely like??
1)Competition - More than 300,000 agents and increasing, fighting for the same rice bowl.
2)High Overhead Expense - Where you get some of your leads from, Flyers ($500monthly), Distribution ($20~25/1000pcs), Advertising (min $500 per month), transportation, phone bills, administration stuff, legal issues, follow-ups.

Basically Cost & Competition would be enough, it is like a self run business, sometimes you earn but you need to prepare for the rainy days. 1-2 deals monthly?? only enough to cover what you have spend on the overheads, not enough to give you & your family a good life.

Those who think it's still easy, just give it a try. After that, than you'll know how "EASY" it is..

neuromanticx--- 02-05-2008 03:43 PM