Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   did you get these starting salaries? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/2677-did-you-get-these-starting-salaries.html)

darialim 06-05-2013 06:09 PM

How do companies calculate when and how much to raise the starting salary? by observing what competitors are offering? but that's difficult information to find out.

darialim 06-05-2013 06:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 36233)
I'm a recent NTU grad, (Graduated 2 years ago) and the salary stated is consistent amongst people i know.

Bear in mind that these are average and is just for reference. For instance, arts degree get a high starting salary because many grads found employment in governmental jobs which pays high starting pay.

TS, why do you say you're underpaid?

Perhaps because the starting pay in SME is lower than govt or MNCs, but sometimes it is not easy to get into those organisations.

I heard for MNC you need to know someone on the inside, and for govt you need at least 2nd Upper Hons to qualify.

Unregistered 07-05-2013 11:22 AM

SME have to give low pay, because we gave everyone a chance to work with us. Many people claim that working in MNC pays much better, that is because MNC usually hires people with experience.

You have to understand that SME took the risk of new hires, and gave basically everyone their chance.

Unregistered 07-05-2013 06:31 PM

Help!

Help, need to decide if this job offer is reasonable enough for me to take it.

Fresh grad from local uni (IT-related), didn't do well enough for honors.