![]() |
Brand name job or useful job
Hi everybody
if you were offered a role with APPLE as a customer service advisor (basically on the phone whole day). And an accountant role with an MNC in the fortune 500 (apple is at the top while this firm is at 450) this would be your first job and both jobs pay the same average grad salary. which job would u take and why? :))) thank you |
Quite uncertain about the career prospects of a customer service officer (although they pay graduate).
and as an accountant you can be almost assured of employment as you become more experience and rise to senior accountant... account manager... etc.. |
why do you apply to such different jobs?
don't mind if I ask what is your background? coz I can't imagine a accounting student applying for a customer service job. |
I have background in both technology and business.
|
Depends on what you like, of course accountant job more stable compared to a customer service call operator. If Apple is offering normal grad pay for this job, means this job likely is below fresh grad level (maybe diploma with 1-2 yrs exp) as they tend to pay min 3.5k if you join as freshie associate.
But you must also take into account that if you want to further career in accountacy, starting off as a finance exec in some small MNC is not ideal at all. You will fall behind your big4 or tier1 mnc peers by a lot in terms of pay and prospects. |
Bro that's exactly what I thought. They are hiring both graduates and diploma for this position I am offered. I tried applying for the specialist jobs but I haven't got a reply. I was thinking maybe I can go in and try to turn the tides to my favour haha by opting for department switch if possible.
By the way, how did you know what apples Paying? Can you share more with me? What are the career prospect for this position in apple? Team leader and after that? Thanks ya |
just for info. both job offer between 2.6 to 2.9k
|
I was offered a role last year, but did not take up as I felt the culture & boss not suitable for me.
If you want my honest opinion, never take a job that is not good with the hope of going inside first then try to change. A lot of fresh grad learn this the hard way when they take up crap jobs in banks hoping to change department once inside. Dun work like that one, most of it has to do with politics, right time right place and just luck, not something you can control just by working hard or being smart. But service operator & accountant really very different, better spend some time and think through what you really want. |
|
apple la, imagine when people ask you where you working, you tell them
A P P L E ! APPLE HOR DUN PLAY PLAY |
apple vs samsung vs panasonic..which will u choose?
|
i went to do some research and found that One of the lower ranks is the Apple genius and genius leads, these people get paid an average of 3900.. so maybe entry level is already 3000+?
|
Base on your academic qualification, you can forget about being hired on their degree program. I cannot imagine next time let's say you apply for Samsung, the HR there will go OMG look at that, a APPLE helpdesk employee!!!! Let's give him a big increment and make him our Marketing Strategy Manager!!! Join only if you like doing customer service work, don't bluff yourself that any future company will be impressed by your Apple help desk credentials. |
If my degree from NUS is useless then I don't know what degree would be useful? only harvard and cambridge? haha.. I guess that settles the point. |
why so defensive?
he is just trying to say that the experience that you may have gained working as a CSO in apple would not be beneficial to your future career if you change job functions. personally, I would take the accountant job. |
Thanks for the opinion.
That guy seems like coming to this thread to play punk. So I need to put it to him. |
The undeniable fact is you got offered a CSO level non-degree job by Apple. If they really think your degree is worth what you think it's worth, they would not have offered you such a low level job with a pay that is clearly under the market. GLCs offer better than 2.6k+ for a pte uni these days. I guess that settles the point. |
thanks, maybe the bro who knew about apple can share about the culture and career progression for the role I stated?
|
|
Usually I will take the one that gives more pay.
You have to remember, skill set is NOT equals to salary. Of cos i am not saying accounting skills pay are low, but just take the one with the higher salary. Trust me I am an "engineer"; my pay is so low... i help kindergarteners with maths homework for candy |
more $ more honey
|
i think i will take the plunge and go for Apple. Think Different~
|
My advice is that anyone who dont even know whether he prefers to be an accountant or customer service officer should just pause and think clearly what he wants to do first before taking any offer. A lot of times career once choose wrongly very hard to reverse and end up wasting years or even decades. |
I wanted to join oracle but I failed the 2nd round. Now I have to ask myself what are the offers I have on hand. I only have these two. So I have to choose one of them right? So I choose the one that pays better.
I believe everyone is driven by $. Whichever company pays well you will go. You don't think, you just go. |
My 2c is TS is not interested in both job. he just choose 1 since he only has the 2 offers, but the pay is quite low for a NUS business grad (NUS biz said their average was ~3.4k+ in 2011) esp when both offers are big MNC.
Another thing surprising is NUS biz grads start looking in May & most will be employed by late aug or early sep, so quite surprising that now in Nov after 6 months he has only 2 low ball offers. I don't know is because his interview was not good or he apply for the wrong jobs. |
served my national service balance from june until september........
|
every other company is telling me to wait for news.. even government tells me to wait for news.. currently only these 2 jobs.. I don't wish to waste time.. time is money.. at least I am employed full time you know what I am saying..
|
|
there's one NUS science student there.. he has the looks of an apple fanboy.. he was promoted after half a year but still telephone operator
|
Dun care!! Take the one with the most $$$.
I actually applied to be dishwasher and general facilities before, because they can pay more!! duno why the pick old weak people, i am definitely fitter than those 60+ yrs old. So now i am stuck with the R&D job and still applying for anything that pays more. Btw, sewage technicians actually earns f**king high pay, may win the typical nus/ntu "Engineers" Trust me, i am an "Engineer".... my pay is so low; I applied to be sh*t tank sensor repairman. |
Dishwasher a bit extreme lah.. You have degree at least office job..
Some of you may think NUS means have to have a good 3000+ job based on one guy's comment above. Well let me tell you there are NUS graduates as Taxi driver.. working at starbucks.. doing all kinds of work you can't imagine for all sorts of reason. My senior was jobless for one year last year until he decided to start work doing part time at OCBC. It does not mean that you NUS means you can get good job. No, no such thing. point-blank simple. |
|
bro why your comment so pointed? what do you mean by make himself feel better? don't think he meant that, he just wanted to say Uni grad is really not all that good.
|
seems that both also not what u want. why not just go for the highest pay one first? just go liao.. dont wait.. i think apple pays better ba.. mai tu liao! at least on ur resume u have APPLE INC
|
the pay at apple isn't worth it if you consider the hours you'll be putting in. |
SEE PAY LA
Seriously why is panasonic even on that list sia, they lost 12b this year rite. wanna guess their bonus? Always see pay, once you start low, you stay low. and once you go down, you will never get back up. Btw: dishwasher not extreme, if the pay is good. |
|
|
samsung also hard to get in. I applied for financial analyst and never got a reply. Did you all read the ****ing news got taxi driver $7000 HAHAHHAHA
|
|
| All times are GMT +8. The time now is 03:40 PM. |