Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Salary Negotiation (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1868-salary-negotiation.html)

girlgirl88 26-04-2012 12:44 PM

Salary Negotiation

Hi all, I'm new here... my first post..

I recently receive a call from the manager that I am shortlisted for the position after going through 2 rounds of interview.

He was saying that he wants me to join in earlier on part time basis as the contract will take 2 weeks to be finalised.

May I ask how do I negotiate the salary? I realised that my expected salary is low after consulting some of my friends in this similar field...

I am a diploma grad and have more than 3 years of experience in the same field...

Should I call him now or wait till the contract is finalised? Will it be too late?

WiredJustice 26-04-2012 02:17 PM

How much are they offering you? 3 years relevant experience for diploma should be about 1.8k – 2k

My advice is not to accept such arrangements. Say you have something on for the next 2 weeks and you’ll be glad to join them once the contracts are done up. Your level is very junior and the contract is just a standard template they need to change the salary field. It takes at most 5 minutes to do up the contract.

2 weeks to consider other candidates & offer I understand, but offered already and need 2 weeks to finalize contract is plain lame. They are using the common trick of bluffing you down to work for 2 weeks and “assess” your capabilities. If they don’t like you after 2 weeks they’ll come back with some excuses to not offer you the contract and you would have wasted precious time.

Unregistered 26-04-2012 02:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WiredJustice (Post 24261)
How much are they offering you? 3 years relevant experience for diploma should be about 1.8k – 2k