-   -   Shopee fresh grad pay (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/11930-shopee-fresh-grad-pay.html)

Unregistered 16-06-2022 09:40 AM

God damn all the loser SWE idiots in this thread.

You can start applying in my careers future alr.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 09:53 AM

I can see why Singapore top levels are trying to bring in more FTs.

You sinkies are celebrating people getting laid off lol how fking pathetic.

Also shopee dying = All swes are trash?

Fking delusional. Cope harder and please please spam more. Stay in your bubble and keep posting BS. You got so much free time lol fking pathetic. No wonder sinkies are hated everywhere. Online games, reddit, political parties etc. What a joke.

Top 10 in education yet can't even use basic deduction skills to differentiate shopee from other tech companies. So braindead.

Spam harder kids.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 10:32 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222176)

Fking delusional. Cope harder and please please spam more. Stay in your bubble and keep posting BS. You got so much free time lol fking pathetic. No wonder sinkies are hated everywhere. Online games, reddit, political parties etc. What a joke.

Top 10 in education yet can't even use basic deduction skills to differentiate shopee from other tech companies. So braindead.

Spam harder kids.

Where do they say ALL SWEs are trash? All they're saying is SWEs like to CSB and glamorize the job when it is actually damn boring.

This is a Shopee thread of course ppl will talk about Shopee.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 10:38 AM

Spam harder kids.

ya sia half the posts all talk cock... shopee from the start is some lj marketplace net company, crypto, stocks and lj net companies will die lol SaaS, banks, fintech etc will always be around... dunno why people bring out swes and tech lol sibei kumgong

Unregistered 16-06-2022 11:51 AM

Layoffs and rescinded offers? Check.

Stock remuneration dropped by more than 75%? Check.

Poor work-life balance (996) and no way of profitability? Check, check, check.

You guys are absolute clowns for joining a joke of a Chinese company to begin with.

Lol, imagine coming to this forum and expecting that people will be civil here. Dream on la.

sinkie will always pwn sinkie at the end of the day, if not how to sleep well at night?

Unregistered 16-06-2022 12:35 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222172)
Hahaha 'day in the life of an SWE' videos are the dumbest thing ever. It's literally one of the most boring jobs n they're trying to snazz it up.

And worse still, they're almost always in those obnoxious tiktok formats, because i guess they support their own products.

90% of these videos r about everything except showing the codemonkey sitting at their desk writing code for some frivolous product. I would literally prefer to watch 'day in the life of an accountant' or 'day in the life of a banker' cos there's probably more interesting commercial-facing aspects.

Sure bro, I am investment banker I spend 24/7 in front of computer aligning logos, passing NDAs documents around, and scheduling calls.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 12:51 PM

Spam harder kids.

Pple hate shopee employees because they are the most delusional pple ever, joining shopee thinking they are in big tech or can use the experience to join big tech
Not to mention all those linkedin posts by their employees selling the company when everyone outside knows the reality

Unregistered 16-06-2022 03:11 PM

Spam harder kids.

kids?? Bro I'm pretty sure all these losers are unemployed boomers bro kids come here talk cock for fk lmfao they too busy making tiktok and enjoying life.

Not like these salty boomers cry cry small thing also cry, not in tech also want act like an expert and talk cock. Fking cringe

Unregistered 16-06-2022 04:07 PM

Not sure which insecure Shopee SWE trying to convince themselves that Singapore employees are not affected, but Shopee just told NTUC affiliated Union that affected Singapore staff will be compensated during retrenchment exercise and Shopee Singapore staff will know there's a townhall soon.

Good luck :)

Unregistered 16-06-2022 04:13 PM

Aiya to those who got retrenched, just go do grabfood :D

Pedal your bicycle until your knees break

Unregistered 16-06-2022 04:15 PM

Spam harder kids.

Shopee isn't the only place laying off SWEs. A lot of other companies are.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 04:50 PM

what about Grab, are they also going downhill

Unregistered 16-06-2022 05:34 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222237)
Not sure which insecure Shopee SWE trying to convince themselves that Singapore employees are not affected, but Shopee just told NTUC affiliated Union that affected Singapore staff will be compensated during retrenchment exercise and Shopee Singapore staff will know there's a townhall soon.

Good luck :)

Fake news. Shopee Sg LinkedIn is still hiring and haven't heard any layoffs in Singapore office yet.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 05:39 PM

^ this retard never heard of automated Job postings lol

So fking dumb, mind blowing.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 05:43 PM

Anyone capable of critical thinking would have seen that the high swe salaries are absolutely unsustainable. Yes, FAANG will continue to pay well, but these companies represent less than 5% of swe employment. Shopee starting to lay off people is a big deal because your fresh grad median salaries are buoyed by the demand from these companies, which hire way more than FAANG in Singapore. Many kids entering the industry could soon see a job market that is extremely hostile to newcomers, requiring multiple rounds of Leetcode Hard and/or take home for an entry level job. This is the reality of an industry that has extremely low barriers to entry.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 07:02 PM

^ another moron lol all the top companies are already asking LeetCode hard and giving take home assignments..

Dunno then stfu pls

Unregistered 16-06-2022 07:13 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222257)
^ another moron lol all the top companies are already asking LeetCode hard and giving take home assignments..

Dunno then stfu pls

Lololol copium

Unregistered 16-06-2022 07:20 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222252)
Anyone capable of critical thinking would have seen that the high swe salaries are absolutely unsustainable. Yes, FAANG will continue to pay well, but these companies represent less than 5% of swe employment. Shopee starting to lay off people is a big deal because your fresh grad median salaries are buoyed by the demand from these companies, which hire way more than FAANG in Singapore. Many kids entering the industry could soon see a job market that is extremely hostile to newcomers, requiring multiple rounds of Leetcode Hard and/or take home for an entry level job. This is the reality of an industry that has extremely low barriers to entry.

[b/]This is the reality of an industry that has extremely low barriers to entry.[/b]

lol..... yea this thread is full of morons.

this guy was right, no wonder tech is 80% FTs.

Spam harder kids.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 07:36 PM

yeah the morons are the shopee swes who think they are some upper class elites

Unregistered 16-06-2022 07:47 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222260)
[b/]This is the reality of an industry that has extremely low barriers to entry.[/b]

lol..... yea this thread is full of morons.

this guy was right, no wonder tech is 80% FTs.

How about you try to refute his point that the industry has extremely low barriers instead of whining about people saying mean things online like a little kid who lost a playground argument?

You can't. Because tech really lets in every ah mao ah gou. If you're zai, then you don't need to worry. If you're not zai, then I can see why you feel insecure. LOL

Unregistered 16-06-2022 08:00 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222252)

Huh FAANG only take in 5%?? How hard is it to get in man

Unregistered 16-06-2022 08:03 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222263)
How about you try to refute his point that the industry has extremely low barriers instead of whining about people saying mean things online like a little kid who lost a playground argument?

You can't. Because tech really lets in every ah mao ah gou. If you're zai, then you don't need to worry. If you're not zai, then I can see why you feel insecure. LOL

not the OP but.... for places worth their salt, tech roles are going for 4-5 rounds of interview with AT LEAST 1 whiteboard or take home. if this is indeed a low barrier to you, _you are one zai dog.

but which other roles need 4-5 rounds?

Unregistered 16-06-2022 08:06 PM

lol, low barrier. what a clown. tell me which industry require 3-4 rounds of leetcode medium to hard, 1 round of system design, 1 round of OS and networking, 1 round of behavioral interview. Tell me which industry require this level of prep? KNN COCK. all salty because they failed to get into tech. fking tech rejects.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 08:12 PM

tech low barrier to entry AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA WHAT THE FUK LMFAO

truly a singaporean moment!

Unregistered 16-06-2022 08:18 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222270)
tech low barrier to entry AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA WHAT THE FUK LMFAO

Depends on what's your definition of low barrier. It is objectively true that you can land a FAANG SWE job without a uni degree if you got relevant experience and can solve leetcode well. This is impossible in other jobs such as civil engineer, doctor, dentist etc. where specialized academic qualifications are a hard requirement.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 08:21 PM

big tech high barriers to entry yes

but shopee is far from that lmao
having to do a few rounds of test is just the nature of your profession so wake the fk up

Unregistered 16-06-2022 08:26 PM

tech low barrier to entry?

i know u dont like shopee, i also dont like, lanjiao ads, app always buggy one cb dunno wtf their coders doing but to say tech have low barrier to entry, sibei mahai

Unregistered 16-06-2022 08:30 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222280)
sibei mahai

interesting use of canto. you are jiuhukia? No wonder tech so low barrier, even jhks also join by the truckload. lolol

Raymond 16-06-2022 08:35 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222269)
lol, low barrier. what a clown. tell me which industry require 3-4 rounds of leetcode medium to hard, 1 round of system design, 1 round of OS and networking, 1 round of behavioral interview. Tell me which industry require this level of prep? KNN COCK. all salty because they failed to get into tech. fking tech rejects.

Agreed, no idea how is tech low barrier to entry at all...

Even the mediocre tech companies aren't that easy to get in, people still have to at least go through 1-2 rounds of technical and 1-2 rounds of behavioral along with 3-6 months probation period where you can get fired at anytime for subpar performance.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 08:50 PM

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 222285)
Agreed, no idea how is tech low barrier to entry at all...

Even the mediocre tech companies aren't that easy to get in, people still have to at least go through 1-2 rounds of technical and 1-2 rounds of behavioral along with 3-6 months probation period where you can get fired at anytime for subpar performance.

probation won't fail one bro.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 08:55 PM

As a Physics graduate from NTU, the barrier is indeed quite low, as least for Shopee. But that was in 2021.

Other than basic programming module, did not take any other programming mods.

Spam leetcode, commit those search sort and other famous algorithms to memory and practice those famous problems. That's all. Was easily hired after acing the tech interviews.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 08:56 PM

this place is so easy to troll huh? some uneducated moron come here throw random number 5% and say tech low barrier to entry and u guys get all mad? lol

gg

Unregistered 16-06-2022 09:01 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222290)
this place is so easy to troll huh? some uneducated moron come here throw random number 5% and say tech low barrier to entry and u guys get all mad? lol

gg

Tech ppl, especially for those who failed to make it to FAANGS and have to settle for consolation prize like Shopee, are naturally an insecure bunch because they know inside they are not of that level of FAANGS SWEs but are drawing such high pay and boasting to their friends now feel threatened with news of layoffs.

Unregistered 16-06-2022 09:38 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222292)
Tech ppl, especially for those who failed to make it to FAANGS and have to settle for consolation prize like Shopee, are naturally an insecure bunch because they know inside they are not of that level of FAANGS SWEs but are drawing such high pay and boasting to their friends now feel threatened with news of layoffs.

shopee is not even a consolation prize

it is a sweatshop

Unregistered 16-06-2022 09:45 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222172)
Hahaha 'day in the life of an SWE' videos are the dumbest thing ever. It's literally one of the most boring jobs n they're trying to snazz it up.

And worse still, they're almost always in those obnoxious tiktok formats, because i guess they support their own products.

90% of these videos r about everything except showing the codemonkey sitting at their desk writing code for some frivolous product. I would literally prefer to watch 'day in the life of an accountant' or 'day in the life of a banker' cos there's probably more interesting commercial-facing aspects.

another loser spotted who failed to enroll CS at uni...

Unregistered 16-06-2022 09:59 PM

not working in FAANG means you're insecure? BAHAHAHAHA WTF!!

Unregistered 16-06-2022 10:03 PM

why must FAANG? a mid-senior SWE in SME can simply earn 5k+, consider not bad liao, higher than SG median salary already

Unregistered 16-06-2022 10:19 PM

So after so much talk, is shopee good for an swe or not? some people here say it's good, other people thrashing it. which is which?

Unregistered 16-06-2022 10:25 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222317)
So after so much talk, is shopee good for an swe or not? some people here say it's good, other people thrashing it. which is which?

who is saying its good exactly?

Unregistered 16-06-2022 10:27 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 222317)

By edmw standard ish 20K pm then ky