Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Education and Personal Growth (https://forums.salary.sg/education-personal-growth/)
-   -   Entering medicine field with unrelated diploma? (https://forums.salary.sg/education-personal-growth/11054-entering-medicine-field-unrelated-diploma.html)

Skyzfoxx 11-11-2018 02:32 AM

Entering medicine field with unrelated diploma?

Hi guys. So I'm actually interested in the medical field and was thinking of applying for NTU or NUS medicine undergraduate. But because i did not know what to study before going into poly, i took mechanical engineering specializing in biomedical in Ngee ann poly. As I chose the FYP route, i have a specialization in biomedical. I am in my third year, final semester now too. GPA wise, I didn't really have fantastic gpa from the beginning. My current gpa was from
Sem 1 - 2.2
Sem 2 - 2.6
Sem 3 - 3
Sem 4 - 3.4
Sem 5 - 3.9 ( A for FYP )
Sem 6 - Ongoing
I didn't have a good gpa initially as lots of life issues like my dad passing away had demoralized me, therefore i had no motivation to study at all. Hence, I would like to ask if entering/switching to the medical field is even a good choice? And if its even possible for me to enter the undergraduate programme from NUS/NTU or would i have to go overseas to pursue this career?

Thanks for everyone responses in advance!

Skyzfoxx 11-11-2018 02:48 AM

By the way as part of my FYP, i had interned in SGH for 1 month and i am now partnering with SGH to create 2 products as i took 2 fyp projects if that helps. Thank you!

Unregistered 11-11-2018 06:49 AM

u hav no chance. u need a related diploma and overall 3.9 GPA to even get a shot at the interviews for NUS/NTU. your only chance is to spend 250k+ and try to find a lesser known OZ/UK university.

Unregistered 09-12-2018 12:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skyzfoxx (Post 111546)