Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - AML/Compliance/KYC professionals come in!
View Single Post
Old 10-11-2015, 04:17 PM
Unregistered

I have been doing compliance for 8 years and AML for 5 years. Currently, I am a SVP with one of the major banks. Here are my thoughts:
- There has been a surge in demand for AML in the recent years. Majority of the demand is at much more junior level, i.e manager, associate level in the space of KYC or transaction monitoring or compliance technology.
- If you do a simple maths, every 20-30 manager/associates, only 1 will eventually become a AVP within 2-3 years time. Every 10 - 12 AVPs, only 1 will eventually become a VP within 2-3 years. If you keep doing the maths, you would be able to assess the probability of one becoming a SVP, Director and MDs.
- Even if you have the job title, there are not many banks who are paying the amount that many have quoted. I am not saying that the pay do not exist because in reality, they do, but majority of the mid-sized and smaller player are not paying that kind of money. Very very few major banks are paying that kind of money. Anyone can count how many major banks maintain a huge AML or Compliance team.