Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Career in Finance VS Marketing
View Single Post
Old 21-09-2015, 10:45 PM

yourplaceormine is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotweather View Post
Hi, I graduated x year/s with Marketing degree from local uni, with good hons (quite recent). Hope I can help you clarify your concerns.

1) Salary - Firstly, be it Marketing or Finance degree, you still can apply for banks or FMCG (marketing) companies. A good honours would be beneficial, as most of the popular companies really have high number of applicants and tend to sort out good hons graduates. And it is really hard to secure those 'prestige' position for fresh graduates that offers high salary, i.e. Management associate, graduate programs etc, as it always have some sort of online tests/ assessment center etc.

I advise you to just do a quick google search to find management associate programs/ graduate programs, and you can see majority/ the 'good' companies all ask for at least 2nd upper hons. Without good hons, don't worry, still might have chance, but it will come down to having better internship experiences, CCA and stuff etc. But most likely, without good hons, don't expect pay to be high if you do not have other relevant skills. Given 2 fresh graduates, one with good hons, one without, as an employer, you will want someone who already proved that he/she can perform better than peers in similar environment. Of course this is only one of the indicators, but you will have a uphill battle.