Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Working in a bank
View Single Post
Old 04-05-2015, 12:53 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
i read some of the posts in amusement, but i have to break the myth about FO.

In banking, especially FO, you need to know someone who knows someone. i was a local uni fresh graduate with a degree not from finance, but work in foreign bank FO right after graduation in a markets role. dont waste your additional time doing a masters if your intention is to make your way into FO, unless you really love studying. you are much better off spending some time doing more networking

FO is about relationships, and less about your masters or phd, to be honest. and imho, fresh graduates are better off not thinking how much salary they are getting in future. Banking is not that rosy an industry, and the trajectory is not as predictable as it seems.
This is a good post.

Many (especially in Singapore; less so in North America and Europe) still think the best and only way to get into front office at an investment bank is to bust your ass to get a 4.0 GPA and have multiple leadership positions in a gazillion clubs. Yes, these are important, but they only get you through the door and perhaps only that first interview. You're on your own after that...your grades and accomplishments will not help you much without you performing in the interview.