Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Compare civil service salary
Old 07-08-2014, 06:16 AM

Alamak, from where u heard that a star pays well? Your info a bit sala leh. A star pays quite low la. But researchers there are lucky bunch ok. They got steady income from gov to do research. Compare to researchers from other countries la, need to constantly rally for research money ok? He think he 9 years PhD very big hor? $7000 for him good already lo, still complain. Some stat boards also got a lot of PhD ok?
u r right abt a star.it is generally acknowledged as lower paid than private sector research. but compensated with stable money therefore slightly less streessful life. but still IMO way harder job than 90% job in civil service. we do need to come out with paper/patent stuff to meet kpi, and those not like those report that a secondary school kid can write already.

$7k for phd+9years is quite weak actually from private company r&d pespective. just think abt it, NUS/NTU hiresvfresh phd+2years post doc as assist. prof. with $7k. I can only guess the positiion not that demanding in terms of technical stuff thus probably offer according what the job needs instead of candidate portfolio.

btw: just check previous posts, many in civil service take $7k with only degree and <7years in their early 30s