Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Calling it quits!
View Single Post
Old 04-10-2013, 06:42 PM
Millionaire Member

whizzard is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustStartingOut View Post
Dear whizzard,

Thank you very much for sharing, from you as well as other contributors. I came here from HWZ (some link on a thread), and realised that most of the posts here are of value, rather than the most of the posts on EDMW. Still go to EDMW for fun, but I really learnt a lot here, from reading the entire of this thread (as well as the Networth thread). So, thanks!

I have a few questions though, if it is possible for those who have rental property to answer. Do you all hold your properties under your own name, or under a pte ltd company? I'm just starting out in adult life, mid 20s. I know I wouldn't get as good a deal on property prices now, but I do wanna plan for retirement in future / passive income.

My plan is to gather up about 50K of my own money, together with 2-3 friends, dump in in a commercial property (warehouse or something similar), held by a pte ltd company (shares equal to our contribution), and sublet it out. I want to have enough passive income before I even think about buying a car.

Actually, I'm already thinking about buying a car (I work in sales, so it would help, but I can honestly say that it's not a requirement, not at the current moment). Still, I want to have enough recurring income to pay for my car expenses, so I'm not "working" for my car, so to speak. Any ideas / thoughts on this?

Thanks,
JSO
Hi JSO,